Friday, May 30, 2008

A few new photos

I uploaded a few new photos to the galleries.

To all the freaks out there....

Today I had a rather interesting day. Now there are those that are
worried about what people will think of them when they go out dressed as
something that isn't "normal". Well, let me be the one to say that
people really don't care. Let me explain. I've been doing goth more and
more lately in either guy or girl mode. Today I wore what can only be
described as an outfit designed to draw attention. I wore a black
sleeveless spandex top with a red long sleeve fishnet top over it, short
black skirt with a pair of handcuffs hooked between the front belt loops
(yes, they are real handcuffs), red fishnet stockings, black ankle boots
with a 5" heel and a leather collar. If you want to see a photo, there
is one in my blog.

Now, with an outfit like that you would expect that when I went to
Walmart and Staples today that people would have noticed me. Well, you
would be dead wrong. Walmart was kinda busy when I got there. I went
about my shopping and was definitely not there a short amount of time. I
like to people watch when I go anywhere. I watch their body language,
where their eyes are looking, etc. as I go by them. I didn't see a
single person give me so much as a lingering glance. I fully expected to
see people's eyes look at the handcuffs or the fishnets or the boots.
None did. There was only one person that seemed to take notice of me
while I was out and that was the cashier. She complimented me on my
engagement ring (a 2 carat heart shaped CZ).

So, put your fears to rest and go out there. If you look like you belong
there dressed like you are, people won't care even if they do notice
you. Go out and be yourself.

Newest Goth photo


Newest Goth photo, originally uploaded by heathercd_2005.

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

goth, etc...

Well, I'm going Goth at least some of the time. My wife is all for it
and has been looking online for some clothes for me to get me going. On
Friday I went to get a nail repaired so I started with a Heather day (no
Goth though). After I got back I needed to load the trailer for a
camping trip over the weekend. I started loading the trailer and decided
it was time to get changed since it was not going to be a Heather
weekend. I decided that it was time to do Goth since I already had
makeup on that would work. I added a little more eyeliner and got rid of
the lipstick and had a very nice goth look to my face. I went with black
jeans, a black t-shirt and my black suede over the calf boots with the
3" wedge heel and a wide black leather belt with metal eyelets all the
way around it. I have to say I loved it. We went to our camping event
and none of our friends commented any on how I was dressed.

Yesterday I put the same boots on when I got up to break camp and at one
point one of the guys (who is definitely the "manly" type) commented on
my boots. He said "How is it that one of your stature can walk in boots
such as those? I could understand if you were short, but you're not. I
tried a pair of platform boots once and was falling all over the place."
I simply told him that they were comfy and definitely do something to
improve the look. He agreed saying they "add to the mystique". LOL

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Goth photos


Goth photos, originally uploaded by heathercd_2005.

Goth photos


Goth photos, originally uploaded by heathercd_2005.

To Goth or not to Goth... that is the question.....

Today I decided I wanted to do Goth (because I can). I wore a short
plaid skirt, black cami, white button down top, black knee socks and my
new boots (thanks Lisa!), black nail polish and a thin leather collar. I
have to say, I really like the look. I like it so much in fact, that I
may just go Goth much of the time. I am seriously considering going Goth
even in Joe mode. I'll post a few pics of me today so everyone can see
what I am talking about.

Saturday, May 17, 2008

Girls, Girls, Girls...

This weekend we headed out to PA to help Lisa move into her new
apartment. We had 2 other TG friends helping and the move was a success.
I decided it would be a Heather weekend for a change, since I so rarely
spend the whole weekend enfemme. I have to say it was different doing
the heavy work (and working up a sweat) as a girl. After a bit of
working up a sweat.. sweaty boobs... Ewww! LOL After we got done the
rough organizing at the new apartment Lisa & Rain went grocery shopping
& to grab some food for dinner. After they got back and we had some
food, we needed to get the rest of the grocerries from the car. I went
with Lisa to help. We no sooner walked out the apartment building door
when a group of like 5 or 6 guys across the parking lot started with the
wolf whistle and "hey ladies" and "why don't you ladies come on over
here?" I have to say that this is definitely the first time that I have
ever had that happen. Sure, I've gotten the occasional comment or such
from a guy, but never like this. In a way it definitely made me feel
good and in other it made me want to yell back "fuck off losers!" I can
certainly understand why many women are so hard on guys that show
interest when things like this happen. I mean, come on guys... Do you
really think we'll come over there after being treated like a piece of
meat. Then again.. if only they knew I'm a guy...LOL

Sunday, May 11, 2008

Why modern religion doesn't make much sense to me

First the disclaimer:

This rant is in no way meant to tell anyone that their religious beliefs are right or wrong. Its purpose is to make you think and look at things from another perspective. This post is directly related to the TG community and religion.

A little about my background... I was raised Catholic and then Lutheran as a child. As a teenager I was a youth leader at my church, so I have some insight on how some religious people interpret their teachings and the inner workings of a church.

Now that I have that out of the way, I wanted to write on this topic because it is one that we often face as members of the transgendered community. I subscribe to a number of blogs, news feeds, etc. that are written by transgendered individuals, friends and family of transgendered, professionals, etc. Every once in a while the topic of religious beliefs comes up in these articles. Some are written to tell us how wrong what we do/are is.. how it is a "sin against God", etc. Others try to justify who we are with respect to their religious beliefs.

There are many ways to approach the topic but many resort to quoting Bible passages on one side of the argument or the other. I find it rather interesting that some people will quote a single passage from a section of the bible as justification of their stance on the subject. Whenever someone does this I pull one of the Bibles off of my bookshelf (I own several versions) and do a little research on my own. One thing that I make sure to do is to read the sections before and after the quoted passage to get a sense of the true context. I find it amazing how some will take a quote completely put of context.

Another thing that I find amazing is that people will read a book written thousands of years ago and try to apply to 21st century life. I am sure that when these words were written they were very valid with respect to society at the time. In many cases the "laws" were much needed and extremely valid. The one thing that many seem to not think of is whether or not these laws are still valid in modern society. It's like the laws here in the US. They were written for a reason but over time have been amended, repealed, reinforced as it made sense over time. All laws exist for a reason, but the thing we should ask ourselves is "does this reason still exist".

Another thing that many seem to do is try and take these words and take them literally. They were written thousands of years ago and in some cases translated through many languages. In some cases the original texts are long lost. Sometimes things get lost in translation. An example is the debate over did Jesus walk "in" the water or "on" the water. It depends on how you translate the words. I have read the same passages in several different translations of the Bible (in my case, King James, NIV, Good News) and all 3 versions say something totally different. In some cases the passages are almost contradictory. Which is the correct version then?

In some places in the Bible it states that crossdressing is against God. <Deuteronomy 22:5 - 

A woman must not wear men's clothing, nor a man wear women's clothing, for the LORD your God detests anyone who does this.>

This is a favored passage by some who believe what we do is a sin. However, if you read the entire chapter it gets much more interesting. Why do they not also quote this passage: <Deuteronomy  22:30  A man shall not take his father's wife, nor discover his father's skirt.>

And another question that these passages brings up is who determines what is or is not men's or women's clothing? Some could argue that a woman wearing pants is wearing mens clothing. Others can argue that a skirt is mens clothing, after all a kilt is really a skirt by another name. Who is right and who is wrong then?

It's really all about how you interpret what you read. How much of these thousands of years old writings is hearsay, mis-interpretation, or outright fiction? We probably will never know. What was going on in society at the time that these words were written? I am sure that there was a very real and valid reason for someone taking the time to put pen to paper. But, taken out of context (and time), do these words still hold any real meaning? These are questions that we should keep in mind when reading religious texts. Many of our modern religions are based on the idea that the written words are fact, and in many cases un-disputable fact.

Here are some ideas that I have run across relating to this subject: Some of the anti-crossdressing passages were written to keep men from dressing up as women and sneaking in to harems for sexual reasons while the men were at war. Others may have been written to keep women from dressing as men to go to war themselves. There are perks and privileges as well as draw backs to either gender presentation depending on the situation and time period. What was there to stop one or the other from being taken advantage of? I believe that many of these "laws" were written to keep some individuals from using a presentation of the opposite gender for some immoral or illegal activities. Somewhere, sometime there was a very real problem that needed to be brought under control for the greater good of the society.

Whether these "laws" were passed down from "God" or merely a good politician is not the point of this rant. The point is that they were written down and probably were valid at the time they were written. But are they still valid? This is the part about modern religion that just doesn't make much sense to me. Some people would tell me that because "it says so in the Bible" what I am doing is wrong and I should not be doing it. But are they in fact wrong in their interpretation of what they read? In many cases I often wonder if the individual has even taken the time to actually read what they are quoting, or are they merely repeating their recollection of what someone else read and interpreted?
--