Thursday, May 28, 2009

The doctor's office...

Ok, so this morning I found myself presented with a dilemma. I had
dropped our daughter off at the school bus and gotten changed into
Heather. It was then that I realized that I needed to get my allergy
shot this week. Now, I really did not want to have to get changed back
to be able to go and get my shot so I said "What the hey" and went as I
was. I was dressed pretty casual - denim capris, t-shirt and sandals.

When I got to the doctors office, I signed in (my male name) and waited
to be called to sign the insurance form. When I was called (my male name
again) I went up and signed the form. Now, I expected some form of
reaction from the girl at the desk, especially since they all know Joe
very well after 3 years of going there regularly. She didn't even
flinch. Now I had to wait to be called to get my shot. When I went in
the door I had to go past the side of the front desk. The girl there
knows me very well and has commented on my goth attire from time to
time. As I walked by she said hello and then looked up and said "Well,
look at you all dolled up today." I smiled and said "thanks". When I
got to the back where they do the shots, the same 2 (younger) girls were
working there as normal on my shot day. The one giving me the shot said
"Wow, you look great!" as she did her thing. A minute or so later the
other girl turned to say something to me (I forget what) and then said
"She's right. You do look great."

About this time the girl from the side desk came in and said "Ok, you
need a girl name. Maybe Jodie?" I told her I went by Heather and she
gave me an odd look and said she didn't expect that name. She commented
that the girl at the front desk who handles the paperwork was a little
confused at first until she realized that it was in fact me. Once they
all realized who I was they thought it was great. We made some light
conversation about my crossdressing and then I was off on my way.