Friday, July 30, 2010

Maybe this is a good sign...

I just spent 1/2 hour explaining prejudice to our daughter (she's 8) and
she still doesn't get the concept. I'll take that as a good sign. :)

Monday, July 12, 2010

Short shorts?

What's with the shorts that are cutoff so short that you can see the
pockets hanging out below them? This has to be one of the worst trends
I've seen in a while. Can they get any more trashy looking? Why not cut
them out so your ass hangs out at the same time if you want to look trashy?

Friday, July 09, 2010

Out with the old, in with the new


Today I went to renew my drivers license. Since I know how important a good photo is, I decided on a look that would be more neutral to make it easier if I need to show my DL. I didn't go as Heather, but I did go pretty androgynous as a goth. Here's my old (bottom) and new (top) drivers license photos. It's amazing how much better a little makeup and hair will make a guy look. So, for the next 4 years at least this is what my ID will look like.

Thursday, July 08, 2010

Men in skirts...

Is society ready for men in skirts (again)? This is a question that
comes around regularly. Now, men wore skirts or something similar until
maybe 300 years ago when pants caught on, so it certainly is nothing
new. In the past few years, women's skinny jeans have become popular
with men. Men are starting to wear high heels in public (google it
sometime if you don't believe me). Men in skirts is also starting to be
more prevalent.

Now, being who I am I push the social norms on a regular basis. I do
this partly "because I can" and partly because it's comfortable to dress
how I like to dress and I don't care what people think. Monday I had off
because of the holiday so I was home all day. I decided that since it
was going to be nearly 100 out that I was going to be comfy and wear a
skirt. I settled on a denim skirt that is mid-thigh length and fades
from a dark blue to a light blue and is frayed at the hem. I wore a
light purple tank top and sneakers. Oh, did I mention that I was NOT
having a Heather day? Nope.. I did this as Joe.

At one point I needed to run to the store so I grabbed my purse and a
set of sunglasses and off I went. Now, I wasn't really trying to look
like a girl. I didn't have on a wig or makeup and was definitely
sporting some decent beard shadow. While I am sure that people did
notice me, what I didn't see was the normal head turns as I walk by,
wide-eyed looks, etc. that I would expect of a guy in a denim mini
skirt. In fact, there were no noticeable reactions at all.

So I wonder.. Maybe society is finally getting used to the idea of men
in skirts after all.

Ok, maybe I pass (still)

Tonight I went to get my nails done since it's been 3 weeks since my
past appointment. I've been going to the same salon for well over 3
years now, and they know I am a crossdresser. It's not exactly a state
secret. So, one of the newer girls was doing my eyebrows (when I say
newer, she's been there maybe 2 years off and on). She's done my
eyebrows before, and she sees me there regularly so I'm not exactly a
stranger. We were chatting about cell phones while she worked (keep in
mind we're maybe 2 feet apart and alot closer when she's doing what she
does), and I mentioned we had 4 phones on our plan, "one for each of my
parents and we each have our own". She then says "That must be nice. You
can talk to your parents and your husband as much as you want and it
doesn't cost you anything." Yup. I guess even after 2 years of seeing
her every 3 weeks or so I still pass. :)