Its a heather day and I'm definitely looking femme. A lady working at costco wished me a merry xmas. It turns out her kid was in my daughters class last year. She said she sees my wife here all the time, so she definitely knows I'm a guy. Nothing negative freom her at all.
If you are reading this blog, you will find some of my experiences. Enjoy! Sometimes it gets quite interesting.
Friday, December 31, 2010
Thursday, December 30, 2010
I hate snow
It looks like it'll be at least another week before I can get the bike out of the shed because of the snow. That stinks!
Monday, December 27, 2010
I got maam'ed again in guy mode
On Xmas day, we stopped to gas up the Jeep before the storm hit and when the attendant returned my card, he said "here you go ma'am". The funny thing is I was not having a Heather day at all. I do have my nails done French though and I guess since he saw the nails when I gave him the card, he assumed I was a woman. It just goes to show how little people pay attention sometimes.
Way too much snow
Well, I finally got us shoveled out enough to get the vehicles out. It's nearly waist deep by the road and a good 18" deep everywhere else. The roads are passable, but barely. There isn't any pavement to be seen at all anywhere.
Sunday, December 26, 2010
12" and counting
We have at least a foot out there and it's still coming down like mad. I am fairly certain that nobody's going to work tomorrow. I took the kids to the old stone store this afternoon to do some sledding. They lasted 10 minutes and we headed for home. It was 25f, 20-30 mph winds and not fun.
blizzard warning
This morning they upgraded the forecast from winter storm warning to blizzard warning. It looks like we're getting that 12-18" today.
Saturday, December 25, 2010
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow (somewhere else)
The latest forecast says we're expecting 12-18" of snow tomorrow beginning in the morning and getting real heavy by mid-day. I am not looking forward to shoveling, but I was smart. Both jeeps are parked down at the bottom of the driveway, so I only need to shovel a path to them from the house and clear out the plowed stuff at the end. On the plus side, the kids will get to use the new 2 person sled that Santa got them.
Friday, December 24, 2010
Wish i had found this a week ago
I've had one of my sockets that hurts like heck since I had my wisdom teeth taken out. Advil works for a while then it hurts again. I discovered the Red Cross toothache kit at the grocery store. It's a pair of tweezers, tiny cotton balls, and a bottle of clove oil. Soak the cotton ball in the clove oil and hold it on the sore spot for a minute and it does a nice job of numbing things. In less than 5 minutes, I've gone from a dull ache to hardly even noticeable. It should last 4 or 5 hours from what I've read.
Thursday, December 23, 2010
Its blueberry...
I just cracked a bottle of the blueberry mead tonight. Its just under a year old and definitely getting better with age. This is some good stuff. :)
Crackberry... The only way to fly.
Crackberry... The only way to fly.
Friday, December 17, 2010
Real food...
Tonight I had an omelet at IHOP and man did it taste good. After nearly 2 days of pudding and applesauce I was so ready for real food again. I am so glad I had all 4 wisdom teeth done at the same time. I'd hate to go through this again.
Thursday, December 16, 2010
owie
I had all 4 wisdom teeth taken out this morning, so I'm not too happy right now. On the plus side, the oral surgeon was good. I didn't feel a thing.
Tuesday, December 14, 2010
You know it's cold when...
When you walk out the door with damp hair and your hair freezes. Crackberry... The only way to fly.
Saturday, December 11, 2010
More photos uploaded
I have uploaded more photos to the family site as I get caught up on our library.
Friday, December 10, 2010
Jury duty...
Well, I got a jury summons for next month, which got me thinking. Being as NJ does have anti-discrimination policies in place for "gender identity or expression", I am seriously thinking of showing up dressed as Heather for jury duty. Just to be sure, I called the jury management office and asked if this would present a problem and their answer was (after checking with a coworker) "You mean like a transvestite? No problem at all. That would be up to your personal preference." So, it looks as if I'll have a Heather week next month. I'll be sure to post on my experience if I do indeed go through with this (which I am almost certain that I will).
Thursday, December 09, 2010
Monday, December 06, 2010
Wigs...
Over the weekend we went to a Ladies Night Out party, but that isn't what I wanted to write about. What I wanted to write about was something that I saw on more than one girl there. It seems that some of us don't quite know how to put a wig on and have it look natural. In this case, what I saw a few times was a girl who had her wig pulled way too far forward, probably in an attempt to minimize their forehead or make their face smaller. Unfortunately, all it did was make them look like someone who was wearing a really bad wig. It is important to remember that women's hair lines and men's (non-receding) hair lines are in about the same place. Wigs are designed with the hair line to match a woman's natural hair line. If you pull the wig too far forward, what happens is the part at the top also shifts down and forward and the crown of the wig, which should sit at the top back of the head now sits at the very top of the head and looks totally unnatural. A good guideline is the front of the wig cap should sit between 3 and 4 fingers width above the eyebrows. Any lower and the wig will not sit correctly. If you want to minimize your forehead, buy a wig that has short bangs that come down to the eyebrows a bit.
Sunday, December 05, 2010
Ladies Night Out
Last night we went to the Ladies Night Out party and had a good time. I danced so hard that my legs are still tired, but it was so worth it. Next months party is the 29th and we plan to attend if we can.
Saturday, December 04, 2010
Thursday, December 02, 2010
We have a sitter...
We have a sitter for Saturday night so it looks like we can go out after all. Yay!
Wednesday, December 01, 2010
not happy right now
We have plans for Saturday night and just lost our baby sitter. Now we have to try and find one on short notice. :(
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)