Monday, January 31, 2011

A new product for the transgender community

I wanted to post an introduction and then the actual press release. There is a new product out there for the trans community and I have had the pleasure of experiencing it first hand. Let me just say that this product is not only produced for the transgender community, but by one of its members (and a good friend of mine). I had the pleasure of modeling the product for both the website (yes, that's me in the photos), and for the product roll-out this past Saturday night. Check it out if you have a few minutes. It is definitely worth looking at.

Press release follows:

Press Release

 

IMMEDIATE RELEASE

 

HISINHERS.COM goes on line with new prosthetic for the transgendered community.

 

1/30/11, Toms River, New Jersey

HISINHERS.COM released Trans-Curvestm, its new life-like prosthetic molded off a woman's lower torso. This one piece anatomically correct support garment eliminates the need for poor fitting foam, fiber or silicone pads used to enhance hips and butt. Constructed out of silicone, it is 100% skin contact safe and does not deteriorate over time like latex products do.

 

Kimm Jacoby, inventor of Trans-Curvestm and owner of Hisinhers, has spent over a year doing R&D on this product.

 

For more information, go to http://www.hisinhers.com or e-mail sales@hisinhers.com

Friday, January 28, 2011

dead battery

Monday I was all set to take the bike to work since I haven't had it out in well over a month. I anticipated the possibility of a low battery, but the battery tender should have kept it up. I went to start it and it was dead, as in 3 volts dead. It seems the extension cord got knocked out of the socket and it's been sitting for a long time with no maintenance. Without the maintenance, in the sub-freezing temps for weeks, it slowly froze and lost its charge. So I pulled the battery and brought it inside to thaw out and then tried to charge it. No luck. My battery is toast.

I am tired of having to keep it on a charger, so I did some looking around and found a Li-Ion battery for the motorcycle. It can hold a charge in the cold for up to a year, compared with weeks for a lead-acid battery. It costs twice as much as a standard lead-acid battery, but the manufacturer says ti should last 2-3x as long as the lead-acid battery does. On a motorcycle, that is 2-3 years on average so this one should last 5-6 or longer. On top of that, because of the type of battery I won't need to plug it in every night in the cold weather to keep the charge level up. They actually recommend not charging it unless it really needs to be charged. It should be here any day now. :)

Here's a link to the manufacturer: http://www.shoraipower.com/

Monday, January 24, 2011

An interesting conversation.

Here is a conversation I had on a group I belong to. It all started with the article below and evolved from there.  I left names out of the replies for privcy reasons, and the conversation was had between me and a few others. I think it's a good evolution of an idea.

by Joanna Douglas, Shine Staff, on Fri Jan 14,
  2011 1:41pm PST
 
  A new study of 3,000 women conducted by Superdrug found that  one in three women refuse to go out in public without wearing makeup.  As in, they can't even run out to the grocery store or to pick up their kid  without makeup on. Really? Nearly half of all women say they prefer to wear cosmetics than to show their bare face.  But what's the most shocking of all: one in ten women polled said they would  never ever let their partner see them without a full face of makeup on.
 
Sara Wolverson of Superdrug told the Daily Mail: "For many women, putting  their makeup on is an important part of their day, and the thought of people  seeing them without can be horrifying. We know that when it comes to cutting  back, cosmetics are seen as an essential. Wearing and buying cosmetics is not  about vanity. It's about giving a woman confidence to succeed in every area of  their life."
 
  But really, how is it that some of these women will be intimate with their man,  but won't show him her natural face? Makeup is pretty, but it's not always necessary!
 
  The Daily Mail reached out to Jackie Fletcher, a life coach from Hampshire, who  said a woman's relationship with makeup is not just about her outward  appearance, but also what's going on on the inside. "Make-up can help with  a sense of self-respect," said Fletcher. "The reality is that we do  judge people by how they look, and this can be especially important for women  in business who often need to appear professional. But there is another side to  it. If the reason for wearing make-up lies in the woman feeling worried that  people will judge her for the way she looks rather than who she is, that’s a  problem that needs to be addressed."
 
  More stats from the poll: 
 
  Over 33% felt their partner would not have been attracted to them if  they hadn't been wearing makeup when they metThe average woman waits 2.5 months before going  makeup-less in front of her partner14% of women get out of bed early to put on makeup  before their partner wakes upSix in 10 women will not go to work without makeupNearly 25% believe they would be ignored for a  promotion if they didn't wear makeup37% think their managers would assume they didn't take  care of themselves
 
  How important is wearing makeup to you?

My response:
What I'm waiting for is the day when the same thing can be said for men.. Most men would do good to never leave the house without makeup on.

reply:
Guys are not that polished. One of the questions was about getting dates and if a guy thought he could not get a date with out make up the article would have been if men were addicted to make up. I guarantee you if men needed lipstick to get noticed by women they would be over doing it.
I think it is interesting that gay men do pay more attention to being attractive because they seek someone who is visually oriented. Lucky for straight men that women care more about a mans abilities and what he can do than what he looks like. Usually there is only enough room for one beauty queen in a relationship. 


Me:
Are you sure that women are more attracted to a man's abilities? It might be that since the choices in "beautiful" men are so scarce, that women have no choice but to settle for abilities, even though they really want a "pretty" guy. Women have been taught all their lives that this is all there is to choose from, so settle for one who can support you. There have been times where the men were prettier than the women and women loved the pretty men over the rest.

reply:
Well heck.....  you are right Heather. There have been cultures where men were "the pretty ones"... but they were not pretty like women they were decorative males and not impersonating/copying  females. Cowboys like to dress somewhat flamboyantly for example. In a way they are doing the same kinds of things women do, heeled decorative pointed boots, colorful fitted shirts, hats, fancy silver bling and tight pants. Guess the cowgirls like it but does not seem to be a universal appeal. In LA cowboys have a 20 percentage point lower perceived IQ but in Colorado it's reversed and they don't like city slickers. 
I said something like that the other day about a lot of what a "man" or "woman" is, is what is needed at the time. If one can fill the role?

Me:
It's all a function of the culture at the time & place. There are women who look for guys with long hair, smooth bodies, and wear eyeliner and lipstick, but those are usually the goths or rock band types. There are some who like guys with lots of muscles and need a shave. With the average American male being overweight, women have a lowered set of expectations and just say "he's a guy, what else do you expect?" If we start to raise the bar again, guys will start to be pretty again and women will start to expect it.

reply:
Yah....yah....yah.... I'm Okay with all that... so what about the fake boobs?

me:
When men aren't allowed to be "pretty", those who would otherwise want to be "pretty" have no choice to dress up as women in order for society to accept them as being "pretty". If society accepted that men can be "pretty" too, then i have no doubt that most cross dressers would never have started cross dressing.

reply:
I'm sorry but a doesn't equal b here. The fact that I want to be pretty has nothing to to do with my desire to crossdress. In fact I would not want to be a "pretty" man; a handsome one, yes. Being pretty in my mind is a feminine trait. I crossdress because I have that deep-seated need to express femininity, whether I'm pretty or not. At my age, being pretty is probably some kind of internal sense of self. I'm lucky just to be considered an older attractive woman. And considering I'm plus-size too, well, how about just not being ugly

Me:
But, if society allowed men to be feminine, would you really still want to cross dress? Think about it.. If you could wear the same clothes, makeup, jewelry, and hair styles but not need the boobs, voice or feminine name, would you still cross dress? And, would it still be considered cross dressing, or just a feminine male?

reply:
Being a feminine man is not the same as being as being female and most crossdressers desire to emulate women in all aspects, although clearly we tend to emulate what most would consider the girly-girl look instead of some androgynous look

Me:
But do cross dressers try to emulate women because we really want to be like women, or is it because we know that is the only way we will be allowed to express our feminine side? I think we emulate the "girly-girl" as a form of rebellion against a society that expects us to be "manly men" all the time. If you stop and look it from the outside, the question is very valid. We have been programmed from birth to think that a feminine male is wrong and something to be ashamed of. If we had been raised from birth to believe that a feminine male was perfectly acceptable, would we still have this desire to emulate women?

If I use myself as an example, I used to think that emulating women was the only way I could be happy and express my feminine side. About 2 years or so ago I finally said  f*ck it, I'm going to be me and if they don't like it, they can take a long walk on a short pier. Ever since then I have found that I don't care anywhere near as much about emulating women. Sure, I still have my Heather days and as Heather, I am all woman. But on the rest of the days I freely express my femininity as a guy. On those days I have little to no desire to emulate women at all even though I carry a purse, have my nails done, wear earrings, wear high heeled boots, wear skirts, etc. I leave the boobs, femme voice and wig home and forego most of the makeup on those days and am extremely happy. I am a feminine, androgynous, or otherwise ambiguous male on my guy days and have found that society for the most part accepts me as who I am. I am far happier since I had this revelation than I was even after I came out of the closet.

I firmly believe that if I had been allowed to dress and express the way I want to from birth that Heather would never have been. I would simply be a very happy, gender fluid male. Society made me become Heather because it was the only way to be who I truly was on the inside. I have my "manly man" days where it's jeans, work boots, and getting dirty tearing a car apart, and I have my feminine guy days where it's tight jeans, heels, form fitting low cut top, makeup and my purse. Then I have my Heather days because it's just fun to be a girl sometimes, but those days are not the same as they were before I said f*ck it. Now those days are simply another way of expressing what I freely express every other day of the week.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Check another thing off the list

I got to check another item off my list of things to accomplish. I can now say I have actually worked as a model. I modeled for a new product that is coming out in the near future for the TG community. I can't say more right now, but I can say that alot of people are gonna be excited by it. I'm also building the website for the manufacturer, so I'm getting to have some fun with the site. More to come once things are officially announced.

Friday, January 14, 2011

Jury duty - the whole story

Monday I didn't have to go in, so it was life as normal.

Tuesday I missed having to go in by 3 numbers.

Wednesday my number was on the list, so I had to report. I dressed very respectably for court. I decided to go with a purple sweater dress, black leggings, and my brown leather winter boots since it snowed Tuesday night. I also decided that my long brunette wig would be the hair of choice for my jury duty. I didn't have to go in until 11:30 since they started late due to the snow.

When I got there, I went to the wrong entrance and the guard pointed me to the jury entrance (they should have had signs at the main entrance to tell us where it was). Once I made it to the right entrance I went up to the window and handed the lady at the desk my jury notice and my drivers license. I had my TG ID card handy just in case it was needed. To my surprise, she didn't even think twice about it and simply checked me in. She wrote the code to the restroom door on my badge and went to put it in one of those plastic holders that you clip on your shirt and stopped. She printed a fresh tag and put that in the holder and handed me the one with the code written on it. I didn't think much of it at the time and put the one with the code in my purse.

I went into the jury waiting room and joined the 50 or so jurors who were already there and found a seat and took out my magazine to read. I didn't see a single off glance or anything. In fact, nobody paid me any more attention than they would anyone else. After a little while they started calling jurors by first name and # to go in for a case. This was it, everyone was going to know I was a guy when the lady called "Joseph" and I answered but I was ready for it. As the jurors dwindled, there were 3 of us left at the end and she hadn't called us. We had to go to the window where we checked in so they could figure out what happened. It seems that one of us wasn't supposed to report that day and the other 2 of us were supposed to be in the first group of jurors called, but our names were missed for some reason (we were on the list for the judge). The lady called over to the court (it was in a separate building) and told them she had 2 more jurors headed over. We (me and another lady) walked over to the courtroom together and chatted while we walked. I don't think she suspected a thing.

We made our way into the courtroom and took a place near the back as things got started. They started by dealing with the people who said they had some hardship and wanted to be excused. About 10 jurors were excused. Next they gave us all a questionnaire to answer. It was things like did we serve on a jury before, did we know anyone in law enforcement, etc. Then they started calling jurors one at a time to get more information and seat them in the jury box (after going over the questionnaire answers with the judge and attorneys). The order seemed to be totally random from what I could tell. It was not in juror # order, name order, or any other order I could find.

As we were going through things, I glanced at the other juror's badges and that was when I noticed that mine was different. All of them had just a 4 digit restroom code on theirs. Mine had "L"and a number "/" "M" and a number. The lady that checked me in had given me the codes to both the mens' and ladies' restrooms.

Since this was a criminal trial, there would be 12 jurors + 2 extras. As they seated jurors, each had to tell a little about themselves. I started thinking of what I was going to say - hobbies, family, etc. By the time the day was done around 4:45pm, they had 14 jurors in the box and about 30 alternates in the pool still. The next morning the attorneys would get their chance to excuse jurors, so it was still anyone's guess as to who would remain.

Thursday morning I need to be there at 9am. I went with dark jeans and a brown pullover top with my brown boots. On the way to court, there was a major accident and I barely made it on time. It seems that several other jurors were also caught behind the accident and had called in and ran much later than me, so I didn't feel so bad.

While we waited, I chatted with an older lady who had sat down next to me in the waiting area. Again, no indication that she suspected anything. When we were finally called in (as a group this time, no names since we knew which judge we were with), we all headed over to court. Eventually, one by one the pool shrunk and more jurors went away. It got down to the point where there were 4 of us left in the pool and the attorneys were finally satisfied with the jury. I was kind of bummed that my number hadn't been called because I was so waiting for the reactions when they called my legal name and I stood up. A few times they called a number a few away from mine and I started to get excited until I heard that last digit called. I guess that is just the luck of the draw. The 4 of us who were left went back to the jury assembly and were told we were done. It was time to go home.

I may not have made it to the jury box, but I did my civic duty and a whole bunch of people got to see a cross dresser up close, even if they didn't realize it. Oh well, maybe next time. I posted pictures of what I wore on my blog.

When a goth gets bored

I like to play my favorite game when I get bored.. "Freaking the mundanes" hehe

Jury day 2 photo

Here is the photo from day 2 of jury duty.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Jury duty - day 2

Well, I'm getting ready to head out for jury duty day two as Heather. I don't know if I'll get called into the "box" or not, but either way I'm there representing the transgendered community. I'll post more later on when I have something to post about. I'm hoping some of the current people in the "box" get tossed out so I get my shot at it, but that's all up to the randomness of the jury selection.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

photo from today

Here is how I went to jury duty today...

Jury selection

Well, I made it past the first round. After lunch the attorneys get their crack at us. After that I know if I made the jury or not. When I got here and checked in, the check in lady gave everyone the security code to the mens or ladies room by writing it on our badges. I looked around. I am the only juror with both codes on my badge. So far all is going well. More to come later.

Waiting

I'm at the jury assembly area and waiting. Its actually kind of exciting.

jury duty

"Jurors 551 thru 739 please report to Jury Assembly Wednesday, January 12th at 11:30 am.  Your services are needed at this time. "
Today's the day it looks like.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

jury duty...

Well, looks like tomorrow I get to report for jury duty unless the snow tonight shuts the courts down.

New domains

Well, I decided to protect my name and bought heathercd.net and heathercd.com. They just redirect to heathercd.org, but now nobody else can use the name...

Monday, January 10, 2011

Saturday, January 08, 2011

New wine labels

I bottled some wines

I bottled some of my wines today. All told, I think I bottled like 25 gallons.

The banana is a little dry, but good.

The bananas with cocoa is a winner and like the first batch. I will be making this one again.

The dandelion mead is incredible. It is sweet and fruity and had a great flavor. I need to make this again.

The pear has a light flavor and needs a little more time to mature, but otherwise is very drinkable.

The watermelon needs more time, so I racked it and will let it sit a few months.

3-6

ugh... the last of the blizzard is still on the ground and it's snowing yet again. They are forecasting 3-6" today. I don't foresee taking the bike out any time soon.

Friday, January 07, 2011

Respect...

Yesterday I took my son to the eye doctor's office for a check up. Being that it was a Heather made no difference. When the optometrist saw me, she said "Hey, Heather." Now, that is respect for you. She knows who I am, and only sees me a few times a year, but she thought enough to remember me as Heather.

Wednesday, January 05, 2011

Tuesday, January 04, 2011

it's green...

I started a batch of kiwi wine tonight. It's definitely green. I'll find out in a few months how it turns out.

Genderful

Monday, January 03, 2011

5 more days

Friday night I will know if I have to attend jury duty or not for Monday.