Saturday, August 26, 2006

Biker chicks rule!

Now that I have joined their ranks I can say that...:) Yesterday was an interesting day for me. I started the day before work by painting a set of artificial nails to ready for my photo shoot in the afternoon. I got off of work about 11:30 and headed home to get ready. The first thing that I did was to apply the nails. One thing that I learned is that the glue should set in like 10 seconds, not a minute + like the glue I had took. Luckily I had a tube from another set that was good. What should have taken 5 minutes took me almost 45 minutes. I intentionally applied the nails first so that I could see what a GG might go through. Otherwise I would have done this step last. I found that getting dressed was marginally more difficult with the longer nails but certainly not hard. Putting on my makeup was no problem with the nails at all. Now, the reason that I say that biker chicks rule is 2 reasons: The theme of the shoot was me on my motorcycle, and I rode the motorcycle to the shoot en femme. Putting on chaps, riding jacket, helmet, gloves was a bit more difficult that I am used to. It felt good to have my hair pulled in a long ponytail sticking out from under my helmet. I made it to the shoot without incident and we got lots of good pictures which I am still editing. Over 180 pics taken, probably 150 will make it onto the site. After the shoot, I rode home, but left the gloves inthe saddle bag. I found that the gloves were too short in the fingers for the nails and it was more comfy to ride without them (Plus I could show off my nails this way). On the way home I stopped at the grocery store in town. I took the chaps off stowed them in the saddle bag & hung the jacket on the back of the bike. It was a challenge to take the helmet off without totally losing my wig in the process. I managed to do it with some difficulty, and did not expose my true self in the parking lot. Of course, I had to do the girl thing and brush my hair inthe bike mirror before I went in to go shopping. A guy driving past stopped as I was doing this and I nodded to him and smiled and he nodded back then drove off. My shopping was uneventful, and I tried to chat with a friend who is also a CD that works there, but he didn't want to chat. To him I say "Sorry if you were worried about getting into trouble, that was not my intention". On the way out, 2 more cars slowed down to check out the chick on the bike as I was gearing up. I left the chaps in the saddle bag so I could show off my jeans. My ride home was uneventful. I spent the rest of the day en femme and didn't even take the nails off until this morning. If I could have talked my wife into letting Heather go to the auto parts store this morning I might have left them on, but I thought that might be a bit too much all at once for her to handle so I didn't push it.
It was a good day.

No comments: