Saturday, January 26, 2008

Oh, I pass - 100%... And it IS confirmed!

Nope, still don't know if yesterday's outing led to me being read or
not.. This is another story entirely.

This morning I went to get my nails filled, and as usual was enfemme at
the time. Since we are going to the Ladies Night Out tonight I decided
to get some nail art done too (why not?). While I was getting my nails
done I was chatting with James (the guy who normally does my nails). I
was also chatting with the lady net to me getting her nails done.

A little later as i was waiting for my nails to dry she came over and
sat across from me to let hers dry. We started chatting about this &
that. We got on the topic of contact lenses and she asked who my eye
doctor was. I told her and recommended him to her since she was new to
the area and looking for someone. We had been talking or a good 15
minutes by this point.

The next question that she asked me almost floored me. She asked me if I
used a gynecologist in town. Not wanting to lie to her and wanting to
change the subject I told her "no, I don't use one in town". Not exactly
a lie... Next she asked if they were far away or near. Again, I don't
like to lie so I thought fast and came up with the perfect response to
her. Keep in mind, my voice enfemme is not very feminine, but certainly
not masculine either. I said to her "Well, you know that's kind of a
funny question to ask me. You see, " and at this point I lowered my
voice back to normal Joe level and said "I'm a guy." The look on her
face was priceless! I wish I had a camera... She went from totally
comfortable to confused to shocked to smiling in about 2 seconds. I will
remember her next statement forever. "If you hadn't told me I never
would have guessed that you were ever a guy."

She then proceeded to ask me how long ago I had made the change. I told
her that i hadn't had the operation and that I had no intention of doing
so. She asked me if I had breast implants. I replied "No, they aren't
really mine" and smiled. She laughed. She said they looked really good.
I told her my wife was really supportive of me dressing like Heather and
she thought that was great. We continued to talk and I mentioned going
out tonight. She said "So your wife stays home with your daughter?" and
I told her that no, Rain was going with me. Again she was loving it.
Now, she's 57 (she told me so) so all of the older crowd should remember
this - that there are women out there that are older who have no issues
with us. This lady really loved the fact that I dressed as a woman and
went out in public. She suggested that I should go on Oprah or something
to talk about it. I told her that I would love to.

So, it is confirmed, I DO PASS!
--

Friday, January 25, 2008

Passing or acceptance?

Yup, I'm bringing this topic up again because its a great topic to think
on....

Today I had to go pick up my contact lenses at the eye doctor's. Now,
let me say this - I have been going to this eye doctor since I was a
kid. To put it in perspective, when I went a while back to pick up my
wife's contacts, before I even walked in the front door the girl went
and got the lenses. She was coming back to the front desk when I walked
in the front door with them in hand. Needless to say, these are people
that know Joe on sight. Today I went as Heather (I couldn't see changing
just to go pick them up). Nobody in this office knows about Heather so
this would be a real interesting experience one way or the other.

When I got there I parked off to the side so they wouldn't recognize the
Jeep, just in case. I wanted to see if they would recognize me or not.
When I walked in 3 of the girls were at the front desk and at least 2
know Joe real well. I walked up to the front desk and one of the girls
(the same one that grabbed my wife's contacts last time) said "Can I
help you?" OK, so I know she doesn't have a clue as to who I am. I told
her I was picking up contacts for Joe and she actually repeated the name
back to me just to make sure she had the right name. She definitely had
no idea who I was (or she was really good at pretending not to). There
was a question about my wife's contacts as well and from the
conversation with the girls I honestly do not think any of them figured
me out. If they did, Heather's credit card probably stopped their
thoughts that I was Joe.

So, did I pass (did they read me) or was I merely accepted by them?

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Stiletto heels can be anoying

I wore a pair of 2 1/2" stiletto heeled boots to work today (in Joe
mode). Twice I turned my computer off as a result. It seems that my UPS
was sitting at the precise location that allowed me to hit the power
switch with my heel when I crossed my feet under the desk. Talk about
annoying! LOL
--

Friday, January 18, 2008

Some days its good to be a woman

I was at walmart today and the shopping carts were jammed together. I
was waiting on a woman to get her cart from the next line of carts when
a guy walked over and tried to grab a cart from the line that was all
jammed together. He freed one and asked me if I was waiting for a cart
and offered it to me. I thanked him and took the cart and went on my
way. .:)
--

Thursday, January 17, 2008

Coming out to a coworker

We have a new employee in the office. Today we were chatting and she
mentioned she does the Goth thing. I decided to show her my goth pics
with the corset. She loved the pic. I told her I made the corset and she
was impressed. It wasn't until I told her that it was me in the picture
that she knew. She honestly thought the photo was of someone else. :)
She said I look great! She may even join us at the next ladies night out
with her boyfriend. She said that one of the biggest things she loves
about goth is the crossdressing guys!

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

How to use drive in ATM machine

 MALE VS. FEMALE AT THE ATM MACHINE

A new sign in the Bank Lobby reads:

"Please note that this Bank is installing new Drive-through ATM machines enabling customers to withdraw cash without leaving their vehicles.

Customers using this new facility are requested to use the procedures outlined below when accessing their accounts.

After months of careful research, MALE & FEMALE Procedures have been developed. Please follow the Appropriate steps for your gender."

*******************************

MALE PROCEDURE:

1. Drive up to the cash machine.

2. Put down your car window.

3. Insert card into machine and enter PIN.

4. Enter amount of cash required and withdraw.

5. Retrieve card, cash and receipt.

6. Put window up.

7. Drive off.

*******************************

FEMALE PROCEDURE:

What is really funny is that most of this part is the Truth.!!!!

1. Drive up to cash machine.

2. Reverse and back up the required amount to align car window with the machine.

3. Set parking brake, put the window down.

4. Find handbag, remove all contents on to passenger seat to locate card.

5. Tell person on cell phone you will call them back and hang up.

6. Attempt to insert card into machine.

7. Open car door to allow easier access to machine due to its excessive distance from the car.

8. Insert card.

9. Re-insert card the right way.

10. Dig through handbag to find diary with your PIN written on the inside back page.

11. Enter PIN.

12. Press cancel and re-enter correct PIN.

13. Enter amount of cash required.

14. Check makeup in rear view mirror.

15. Retrieve cash and receipt.

16. Empty handbag again to locate wallet and place cash inside.

17. Write debit amount in check register and place receipt in back of checkbook.

18. Re-check makeup.

19. Drive forward 2 feet.

20. Reverse back to cash machine.

21. Retrieve card.

22. Re-empty hand bag, locate card holder, and place card into the slot provided!

23. Give dirty look to irate male driver waiting behind you.

24. Restart stalled engine and pull off.

25. Redial person on cell phone.

26. Drive for 2 to 3 miles.

27. Release Parking Brake.



Sunday, January 13, 2008

Oh to be 21 again

Yesterday my wife went to get her nails done before I did (I was being
lazy). While she was there one of the ladies asked her how her daughters
were doing. Keep in mind, we only have one daughter. In talking it came
out that she thought I was Rain's daughter and that I was maybe 19-21
years old. Now, I know that makeup can take a few years off a person's
appearance, and I would put me as looking late 20's, but not late
teens/early 20's! I guess I do a pretty good job if these women think
I'm her daughter and not her husband. LOL

When I got here with our daughter I had to wait a little bit to get my
nails done. While I was waiting, the lady that I talked to 2 weeks ago
stopped in as well. This is the one that thought my wavy auburn wig was
my real hair. Now, I had my long straight wig on and she did not seem to
really notice that my hair was that much longer (It's a good 18" longer).

While we were there, a few older girls that Katya knows from her old
daycare were there with their mom getting their nails done. I went to
school with the mom and she does not know about Heather. While we were
there I know she put 2 and 2 together. We don't actually talk, but I
don't think she had an issue with it. I would say that it caught her off
guard and she did not know how to handle seeing me as a woman. The next
class reunion should prove interesting. I am seriously considering going
as Heather if I can convince Rain to let me.

I was talking to several ladies while waiting for our nails to dry and I
honestly do not think that any of them read me at all. Keep in mind
we're talking extended conversation maybe 3 feet apart. My makeup job
must have been good enough to fool them. Also like i say, I know my
voice does not sound female. The trick is to sound less male. Their eyes
will complete the deception when they take in the boobs, hair, makeup,
etc. Every time I have an experience like this it just reaffirms what I
say about passing vs acceptance. Did I truly pass or did they simply
accept me? We'll never know but I honestly do not think that there is a
difference.

My wife went on ahead to the hair salon to get her hair cut leaving our
daughter with me. After we got done with our nails we headed over to the
hair salon. I wanted to show off the long wig to my hair stylist. When i
got there the receptionist greeted me very warmly and treated me as a
woman, even though she knows full well who I am now. She talked to me
and she accepted me (I'd say she's mid 20's). We just stayed a few
minutes. The guy that was washing Rain's hair didn't know who I was
until Rain told him and he was really shocked (in a good kind of way) -
and yes, he is gay in case you wondered. After we left the hair stylist
said she loved the wig and can't get over how good I look as Heather.

Next I took our daughter to the park to play while Rain finished her
hair appointment. While we were there a couple who's daughter was
playing with Katya wee standing next to me and the wife struck up a
conversation. I introduced myself as Heather and she accepted that. We
chatted for a bit. Again, I think I truly passed but we will never know.
None of the other parents or kids let on that they read me while we were
there (about an hour).

Later last night Louise & Millie came to visit us for a bit. We had a
great time as always. It's good to be able to just hang out with some
good friends once in a while and be ourselves.

Today I went over to mom's house to look at her computer (as Joe since
they asked that Heather not come over). While I was there I tried to get
my dad to start to learn about and understand me better. I planted the
seed, but I think it will take a while for me to really get him to
understand me. He finally admitted to me that one of the reasons he
doesn't like it is he could never crossdress. I told him that I
understood that, since this is not a choice but something that we are
born with. At least he is willing to listen to me a little at a time. He
changed the conversation after a few minutes and I could see he wasn't
comfortable so I let it go for now. There's always next time. One of my
dad's fears is that he will be like his dad - absent from my life. I
told him that the one way to ensure that he doesn't is to try to make an
effort to understand who I am.

I came home and got changed and we went thrift shopping at our favorite
goodwill store. Again I passed. I found 6 pairs of jeans, 3 skirts, a
great black dress (casual dress), a brand new brown hobo purse with
fringe (so feminine), and a top for like $60. Not too shabby if you
asked me. It's hard to find jeans long enough for me to wear with heels
(you know the ones - too long that cover the heels some), but I managed
to get 3 pairs in this length and skin tight to boot. While I was trying
on my clothes a woman brought a long leather coat over to Rain and said
to her "I know that I could never pull this off but I know she could"
referring to me. I tried the coat on and the sleeves were way too short.
I was so bummed because this was a gorgeous leather trench coat for $40
and it was definitely my size! We were there for around 2 hours shopping
with no incident.

Before I got changed to go out Rain commented that it was also fun to go
shopping there with me as Joe. Keep in mind, I don't buy it if I don't
try it on first. When I'm Joe, she gets a kick out of seeing people
react to me walking into a changing room with a dress or skirt to try
on. She said the few times I have done this she has seen some really
interesting reactions, as people don't know what to do. LOL

On the way home we stopped at the Medport diner for some dinner. The
waitress was extremely friendly and when she came over said "What can I
get for you ladies?". Again, I passed. She always referred to me as a
woman and was actually one of the best waitresses we've had in a while,
so she got a real nice tip. I don't think any patrons read me while we
were there either. Before we left I had to use the ladies room so I
grabbed my purse and headed for the women's room. No issues there at
all, not that I thought there would be.

While I was in the ladies room I thought about the conversations we have
online about how much cleaner the ladies room tends to be. It dawned on
me that I know how to solve the "Do I use the ladies room" and "unisex"
debates. We need to change our thinking a little bit. We should change
the tags on the restroom doors. We should label them "Slobs that can't
hit the toilet or trash can" and "People that know when to sit and when
to stand". There ya go, problem solved! :)

All in all it was a great weekend. I hadn't planned on spending as much
of it as Heather as I did, not that I'm complaining.

--

Friday, January 11, 2008

Returning to the hair salon

Well, tonight I went for a haircut. If you remember, when my wife went
in they met Heather for the first time and most of them didn't realize
who it was at first. The same girl that cuts my wifes hair does mine
too. Of course I knew that tonight would prove interesting.

When she was starting I said "So I heard that i got interesting when my
wife was in last". She said that I created quite a stir when I stopped
in. She also said that if she hadn't known me as a customer, she would
have never guessed that I was a guy. She said I looked fabulous. We
talked a bit about what it's like. She thought it was great that I was
able to do what I do. She was curious about my wig so we talked about
wigs for a bit. I told her I'd have to stop in sometime in my long wig
so she could see it.

I also got into the principle that most of what I wear is really mens..
She agreed, especially when I gave her the history of high heels. I
talked about carrying a purse as a guy and she said "Sure, why not"
they're very practical". I got into how pants were a relatively new
invention and pockets even newer. All in all it was some really great
discussion.

In conversation she mentioned coming home one night and catching her ex
husband in her lingerie He was so embarrassed that he left & didn't come
back for 2 days. Unfortunately, things didn't work out for them, but his
crossdressing wasn't the reason.
--

One of those bizarre dreams

Last night I had one of those dreams that makes you wake up and go
"Where did that come from?" In my dream I was a pirate... We're talking
Pirates of the Caribbean era here. I know we were watching a show on the
"Real pirates of the Caribbean" a few weeks ago, so thats part of it. Of
course it had my slant on life which made it a little bizarre. Now,
there were a few notable women pirates back when. In my dream I was who
I am, a MtF crossdresser. Heather was a pirate. The really weird part
was in my dream my partner was a FtM pirate. Sailing the high seas as a
woman pirate made for a really weird dream I have to admit...
--

Thursday, January 10, 2008

I'm flattered...

I was reading the latest edition of The Looking Glass - a TG publication
from the Memphis area. As I'm scrolling through the articles, I come
across an article on achieving a feminine walk. As I'm reading it, I'm
thinking "Wow, that sounds awfully familiar". Then I happen to look at
the author... It's me! I find it touching that someone would think
enough of some of my babbling to republish it for all to read. I am
truly flattered. :)
--

Saturday, January 05, 2008

A great weekend...

Last weekend we went to visit Lisa & Loie in PA for a few days. For me
this was a great opportunity to spend 4 days straight as Heather. Now,
for me I usually get a day here or there and once in a while a whole
weekend but that is about it. This is enough to keep me happy and I
can't say as I ever really want to go too long as Heather no matter how
much I love it. Sure, Heather is a big part of who I am but I can't say
as I am only Heather. I guess that is one of the biggest distinctions
between a crossdresser and a transsexual.

I started by going to get my nails filled on Friday afternoon. Since I
was getting 4 days and didn't have to worry about work I had them polish
my nails and do some nail art for a change. I have to say that I really
enjoyed this part (first time I did this). I managed to let them dry
without trashing them (You'd be surprised as to how hard this is to do).
From the time I got dressed to go get my nails done until Tuesday I was
not planning on any guy time at all. We're talking Heather 24/7.

Saturday we got ourselves together and headed for Lisa & Loie's. We were
looking forward to seeing Lisa again and finally meeting Loie. Over the
next few days I spent all of my time as Heather which felt a little
weird, I must admit. My wig didn't come off except when I was sleeping.
I was kind of weirded out every morning when I got up because while in
Heather mode, I knew I needed a shave and makeup, etc. Until I got
myself cleaned up I just wasn't comfortable.

We had lunch out one day, hit the mall, etc. and I was only read a few
times while we were out. It seems that Rain & Loie know each other from
somewhere in their past but they're still working on figuring out just
where & how. Katya made a new friend with Loie's son and they chased
each other around all day every day. Katya fell asleep on the ride home
on Tuesday (around 4pm) and pretty much slept till the next morning. She
was one pooped kid.

We can't wait till we get together with the girls again. I think we have
definitely made some really good friends.

crossdresing and tv

I was just sitting here watching some old MASH episodes. I got to one
where the whole camp is going crazy. At one point Klinger is talking to
Sydney (the shrink) because he thinks he's going crazy. Now, if you've
never watch MASH I should mention that Klinger tries to get sent home by
crossdressing all the time. Its used as a way to be called crazy and
sent home. Anyway, he starts saying how he thinks he's really going
crazy. He asks "Would a sane man dress like this?" He can't look at a
picture of a pretty woman anymore without wondering "how could she wear
a peasant blouse with a tweed skirt?" I find it kind of interesting how
even back in the 70's the portrayal of a crossdresser wasn't done in a
bad way. In this episode it was brought out that Klinger's crossdressing
was more of a pressure valve.