Friday, March 26, 2010

Is that your mom?

"Is that your mom?" Ordinarily that question would be an easy one to
answer, but not so for our daughter. Being the child of a crossdresser
who is out and proud leads to that sort of question being asked
frequently. The problem being that it is usually me who they think is
her mom. Normally, she kind of avoids the question, but yesterday when I
was at her school party, the answer was easy for her. "No, that's my
dad, silly" was the answer.

But, wait... I'm a cross dresser, right? So the question should have
been expected... Well, in this case I was not cross dressed. I wasn't
even all that girly as an androgynous guy, really. Yes, I went
androgynous that day in a skirt and lace top, but for her school party,
I threw on a pair of long, boot cut jeans (non-girly), and a T-shirt
(also, non-girly.. A black Cirque du Soleil shirt). Ok, I did have a
touch of eyeliner (very light) on and wore black ballet flats and
carried my purse, but that was it. My hair is somewhat short (above the
collar) and I have a definite guy hairline (receding), definitely not
"girl" length. Yes, I have my ears double pierced, but I wear 14ga
piercings in them in guy mode, not girly earrings at all. I didn't wear
my rings or have my nails painted. I was even sporting a beard shadow
(even after a close shave I have beard shadow).

In guy mode I don't look like a girl, I look more androgynous at best. I
wasn't even trying to be girly. I can see how some who have longer hair
will be confused for a girl, but this is honestly the first time this
one has happened to me. Let's face it, kids are really good at spotting
cross dressers. If anyone is gonna see that Heather is a guy, it's a
kid. They see right through me more often than not. How then did a 7
year old think I was her mom? It boggles my mind.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Women and purses

I went to a party at my daughter's school. Out of 12 women only 2 carried purses. And me with mine in guy mode of course. :)

Being androgynous can be a good thing

Being androgynous isn't for everyone, but for those of us who can do it, it can be quite liberating. As an example, today I wore an ankle length black skirt, black camisole and longsleeve black lace shirt with ballet flats. I didn't bother with a wig or makeup (except some eyeliner) and am loving it. I grabbed my purse and headed to my dr appointment without a second thought.

Am I bound to get some odd looks? You bet. But I don't care. The way I look at it is they are the ones with the issues, not me. I'm very comfortable just being me, whether that is as a typical guy, goth, androgynous male, or girl.

If more people would push the social stigmas associated with clothing I think we'd see more like me... People who transcend gender and simply "be me". Let's face it, women wear mens clothing and dress more andorogynous every day. Why should men be any different?

Over time I find that people tend to not really care when they see a guy who carries a purse or wears a skirt. We are our own worst enemies when it comes to that sort of thing really. Sure, teens will be a little rude, but if we blow it off and ignore it they will quickly tire of their game and move on and leave us alone. It's only fun being a bully when you get a reaction.

I like being androgynous. But more importantly, I like just being me.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

I added some ads to the site

I decided to use google adsense to place some ads on my site and maybe
get it to generate some income to pay for the hosting. Now I just have
to wait and see how it actually pans out. If anyone spots an offensive
ad, let me know.

Sunday, March 07, 2010

This is funny...

Heather teaches Katie how to cook and Rain teaches Adrien how to aim when he goes potty...

Tuesday, March 02, 2010

I ripped a nail off

I was so pissed this morning. I ripped most of one of my nails off when
I caught my finger on something I was trying to unplug. It hurt like
hell and may be weeks before I can get it repaired now because it ripped
it off part of the nail bed too. That sucks!