Thursday, March 25, 2010

Being androgynous can be a good thing

Being androgynous isn't for everyone, but for those of us who can do it, it can be quite liberating. As an example, today I wore an ankle length black skirt, black camisole and longsleeve black lace shirt with ballet flats. I didn't bother with a wig or makeup (except some eyeliner) and am loving it. I grabbed my purse and headed to my dr appointment without a second thought.

Am I bound to get some odd looks? You bet. But I don't care. The way I look at it is they are the ones with the issues, not me. I'm very comfortable just being me, whether that is as a typical guy, goth, androgynous male, or girl.

If more people would push the social stigmas associated with clothing I think we'd see more like me... People who transcend gender and simply "be me". Let's face it, women wear mens clothing and dress more andorogynous every day. Why should men be any different?

Over time I find that people tend to not really care when they see a guy who carries a purse or wears a skirt. We are our own worst enemies when it comes to that sort of thing really. Sure, teens will be a little rude, but if we blow it off and ignore it they will quickly tire of their game and move on and leave us alone. It's only fun being a bully when you get a reaction.

I like being androgynous. But more importantly, I like just being me.

No comments: