Thursday, December 31, 2009

At the nail salon

Today I went to the nail salon for a fill & to get my eyebrows waxed...
Nothing out of the ordinary there really. While I was getting my
eyebrows done, I was chatting with the girl (she's only interacted with
me a few times so far) and she commented that I had a few gray hairs in
my eyebrows. She asked if they were from too much sleep (jokingly). I
replied that it was probably more likely from too much little kid. That
got us on the topic of kids. She asked how many kids I had and I told
her I had 2. Eventually she asked if I planned on having any more kids.
Now, this was another of those "yep, I pass" moments. The way the
conversation went and the question got asked, I really believe that she
does not know that I am a guy. It came out as her asking me if *I*
wanted to have more kids, not if I wanted to father kids.

The funny thing is this is the same salon I have been going to for
almost 3 years now, and I thought that everyone there knew about me. I
haven't exactly kept it a secret. I know the 2 owners know (they knew
from day one), and the guy who normally does my nails knows. Since this
is a family business, I assumed that everyone was in on the fact that I
am a cross dresser. I guess not. It's moments like that one that which
really make me smile.

Galleries are linked

The photo galleries are now linked to the main site login. To login to the gallery, you first need to login to the site.

Sunday, December 27, 2009

Gallery is back up

The galleries are back online after an upgrade last night.

Saturday, December 26, 2009

Photo gallery is down

I have an issue with the galleries right now. I am working on resolving
it. They will be offline until this is resolved.

website facelift

I just gave the site a major facelift. This will make it easier for me
to maintain the site and give it new features.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Home Depot

Today after getting my allergy shot I stopped at Home Depot for some
lumber I needed for a project. I grabbed a lumber cart and went off to
get what I needed. As I was on my way to the check put I had a number of
employees ask me if I needed help finding anything. At the register, the
girl asked if I needed any help with the lumber. Now, we're talking 8
1x2's and 3 1x4's... Not exactly heavy lumber by any standard. My 7 year
old could handle these boards. Of course, if I had been in Joe mode, I
bet not one of those offers of help would have been made. Why is it that
people automatically assume a woman is weak and needs help?

Sunday, November 08, 2009

Ladies Night Out

Well, the Ladies Night Out party was a big success last night. I had to
get our baby sitter from work before we could go, but once that was
taken care of and we got there (about 9pm), a good time was had. I spent
a good part of the night dancing, as per my usual. Note to self: Wear
more comfy shoes to dance in...

The EZ clips were a big hit. I had a few people compliment me on how
they looked and ask how they worked. We ended up rolling into home after
2 this morning (ugh).

Thursday, November 05, 2009

And more reasons for men to crossdress

http://themeshlife.com/home/tag/collection/

And they wonder why men cross dress....

Considering this is billed as "what men want" and 2009 fall men's
fashion, if this doesn't make men cross dress I don't know what does.
These styles couldn't be uglier or less flattering.

http://www.stylecaster.com/news/5491/2009-fall-fashion-commonwealth-utilities

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

The fat, bigoted b*stard won

Well, NJ has a new governor now. We now have to deal with Mr.
"pro-life", "marriage is between a man and a woman" for the next 4
years. Our work is definitely cut out for us to prevent him from
overturning the protections and freedoms that we now have and prevent
him from making it legal to discriminate against us or tell us that our
thoughts or feelings are not important or outright wrong.

Friday, October 30, 2009

EZ Combs

The other day my wife got me a pack of those EZ Combs for my hair. I
love these things! They are so cool, especially if you have longer hair.
They make it so easy to pull your hair back and out of your face.

Friday, October 16, 2009

The social security office

Yesterday I had to go to the social security office to apply for a replacement card for our foster son. It was a Heather day, but I did not let that stop me... I had no issues at all, even after showing my drivers license. They didn't even react to it.

The social security office

Yesterday I had to go to the social security office to apply for a replacement card for our foster son. It was a Heather day, but I did not let that stop me... I had no issues at all, even after showing my drivers license. They didn't even react to it.

Saturday, October 10, 2009

You know you pass when...

You get hit on by a lesbian at a gay bar. :) we're at georgie's and I did...

Thursday, October 01, 2009

really working out

well tonight i put in about 2 1/2 hours on the DDR and I definitely got
one heck of a workout. Toward the end I was missing steps all over the
place and could tell that I was getting tired. It's not a high intensity
workout, but you try dancing for 2 1/2 hours and see if you don't get a
workout too.. ;)

And of course since its a Heather day I did the workout enfemme. :) I
put on a jog bra, spandex shorts and some low socks (so i dont stick to
the dance mat).

Website facelift

I gave the site a face lift by re-doing it as a wiki. It actually makes
sense when you think about it. The site contains informational pages and
I like to add new content frequently based on posts I see on news
groups. Check it out and tell me what you think.

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Acceptance....

This topic comes up from time to time as I like to share some
experiences that I have. Today went to the allergy doctor to get my
monthly shot. They've met Heather before so it's no big deal really.
Today as the girl was confirming the info, she read the name on the
vials "Joe". The office manager pokes her head around the corner and
says, "No, it's Heather today. Get it right..." The girl giving me the
shot kind of smiled and said, "Right, Heather.. Sorry about that
Heather." as she winked at me.

Now, that is what it means to be accepted. They know who I am and could
easily have insisted on calling me Joe, but they did not. The office
manager also made it a point to actually remember my name and kid the
nurse about it.

Thursday, August 20, 2009

today's thoughts

Well, today I decided to go goth again (as Heather). I wore the new
collar I got and i do like it. It's amazing how few people even reacted
to me in pigtails (black wig), heavy collar, red mesh top over a black
cami, black skirt, pink & black striped thigh high socks and heeled mary
janes. I know I stood out, but didn't see any stares, startled looks,
etc. I did get a few smiles from people as I walked by, but that was
about it.

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

New combined feed

I re-did the feed combiner. Hopefully it'll work a little smoother when
viewing the combined feeds from all my sources.

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

urnotalone members

This summary is not available. Please click here to view the post.

Saturday, August 15, 2009

today's outings

today I got up, threw on a pair of denim capris and a black halter top
and sneakers and my new black wig (in a pony tail) and went out to fix
the pull cord on the lawnmower and mow the lawn. Well, I got the cord
replaced and the lawnmower started but it would only run for like 3
seconds then die. I took the carb apart and cleaned it with no luck. I
didn't mess my nail polish up either, mind you. I went off to Lowe's and
bought a new push mower (no more non starting lawn mowers for me). I
mowed maybe half the lawn before I was just too hot to continue. After
that we went thrift shopping and I got some really cute tops and a black
skirt that will go great Goth. My wife got some great shoes and I'm so
jealous they weren't my size. On the way home we stopped at Burger King
for some dinner and then I finished mowing the lawn when we got home
since it had cooled down by then.

Some interesting vacation occurrences

Well, the week before last we were on vacation at a major Medieval
event. I don't go as Heather there, but did have a few interesting
things happen while I was there.

The day after we arrived I volunteered at the check-in for 2 hours (the
entire event is run by volunteers). While I was there, things were quite
busy. I'd say that maybe 100 or more people checked in within those 2
hours. As one couple walked up to me to check in, the woman says to me
"I'm jealous. Please tell me those are not real" in reference to my
nails. Keep in mind, they're gel so they are permanent. I keep them
polish-free so they look natural when in guy mode. I told her that they
were gel and she said "Whew, I'd hate to think that your nails looked so
much better than mine, and at camp too." That was the entire reaction.
Nobody else noticed my nails (or cared).

A couple of evenings later, we were in camp and one of the guys in our
group (who I had only just met that day) was chatting with me and we got
onto the topic of what we did for a living. He said to me "Are you a
female impersonator?" I corrected him and told him I was a CD, not an
impersonator and asked him what made him think that. He said that he had
noticed my nails and so came to that conclusion. He mentioned to me that
his wife had a "thing" for guys who did "that sort of thing". A few days
later I dug out one of Heather's cards from my purse (which lived in the
tent for the week, and was not carried) and showed it to him. He was
impressed by the photo on the card and complimented me on my look.

I managed to survive a week camping, including loading the trailer,
unloading the trailer (twice), setting up & tearing down camp, etc. and
didn't break any nails. Yes, it can be done if you're careful.

Friday, August 14, 2009

Hit on at Applebee's

OMG, I just had to share this one... We were just at Applebee's tonight
for dinner and I got hit on big time. Now, it was a typical Heather day
- Brown 2 tone pullover top with half sleeves, khaki skirt, tan heeled
sandals and my new black wig. Nothing extravagant, really. I was there
with my wife, daughter and our foster son.

As we were finishing up our dinner, one of the staff (his name tag said
"I am Ed") came over and asked how our dinner was going. We did the
normal "it's good" stuff. He asked our daughter if she was still working
on hers and she said she was done. He said it was OK, she didn't have to
eat it all since she was 7 and it was OK for her to not eat it all (in
her defense, it was a big meal). He commented on the fact that my wife
cleaned her plate (she had a salad). He looked at my nachos, which were
half eaten and asked if I was done, to which I replied that I was. He
was like "are you sure you don't want to eat some more?" "Yeah" I
replied "I'm done". He said "You didn't eat much, are you sure you're
done?" I told him I was watching my figure (I really was full and it was
a huge portion to begin with). He looked right at me and said "You're
beautiful, you don't need to watch your figure, I'm sure you could eat
some more and not have to worry about your figure." He then turned to
Rain and said something like "Don't you think she could eat more and not
have to worry about her figure?"

By this time I was not looking at him at all. I was actually hoping he'd
quit already and move on to the next table or whatever. I was basically
looking down and at Rain and really smiling (and apparently blushing big
time). He said "aww, there's no need to blush, you really are beautiful
and you have a great figure." He asked Katie what her name was and
Adrien too. Rain was waiting for him to ask my name next but he didn't.
I don't remember the rest, but he went on for a few minutes more, and
eventually went to take care of other things.

After he left, Rain and I sat there looking at each other in disbelief.
This guy had come over and hit on me big time right in front of my wife
(of course he didn't know that). We were kind of in shock over it. Sure,
I've been hit on before, but this guy was really working it. We were
kind of laughing about it and trying to decide if this guy was really
serious. I think he was.

When the waitress brought the check, our daughter commented "Hey, her
name's Heather too." She gave one of those "huh?" kinds looks and our
daughter said "Her name's Heather too" referencing me. We found out that
tonight they had 5 Heathers on staff. Talk about confusing...

Photos uploaded

I've uploaded a bunch of photos to the galleries. Most are older sets,
but some new ones have been added as well.

Thursday, July 30, 2009

At the doctors enfemme

Well, i'm at my PCP as Heather for the first time The receptionist didn't even flinch. The nurse just took my weight,etc. And no noticeable reaction...

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Hmm...

I think it may be the mascara causing my eyes to get all scratchy. I
went heavy on the eyeliner yesterday again and no problem. Now to test
it with just mascara and no eyeliner and see what happens.

Friday, July 10, 2009

Things that make you go hmmmm...

This evening I had one of those moments where you stop and go "Hmmm"...
Today I went total goth in guy mode - very heavy black eyeliner, black
nails, white powder, black lips, long black wig, leather pants, black
tank top, fishnet arm warmers and my boots. As I was taking off my
makeup tonight I realized something. I had gone the whole day without my
eyes getting scratchy. I had attributed this to the eyeliner in the
past, but today it was at its heaviest and I did not have the problem.
Now I am wondering if maybe it is not the eyeliner at all, but instead
the mascara getting into my eyes after 10-12 hours of wearing it. I'm
going to test this theory and see if it is in fact the case.

Tuesday, July 07, 2009

New photo albums

I just added a new photo gallery to the website. All new photos will be
added to the new gallery and I will work on re-uploading the previous
photos over time.

Thursday, July 02, 2009

Trip to the eye doctors

Today I needed to go to the eye doctor's office to pick up replacement
sunglasses. When I walked in (as Heather), the optometrist says "Hey
Heather!" Now, this struck me as odd because the only time I have been
there crossdressed was Halloween, and I wasn't really planning on being
"Heather" that day when I went. Anyway, I never actually told anyone in
that office that I do this with any regularity, or mentioned the name
"Heather" to any of them. Somewhere they must have had conversations,
and my name passed through the grape vine and got to them.

She asked me "So, what's the special occasion?" I told her there wasn't
really a special occasion, to which she replied "Is it because it's hot
out and this is much cooler?" I was wearing a strapless short summer
dress today. I told her I just felt like it and she told me that I
looked really good and that I looked good the last time too. She said
the thought it was all good. She commented that she wished she could
walk in heels (I was wearing 3 1/2" heeled sandals). She definitely
likes seeing me dressed up. The rest of the staff didn't seem to care
one way or the other really.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

What is acceptance?

What is acceptance, really? We talk about this concept all the time, but
it is so hard to define. In the 4 1/2 years since I first tried out
makeup, I have learned alot about the word and its possible meanings. As
I sat in the waiting room of my allergy doctor this morning as Heather,
I realized that maybe people are looking for the wrong things when they
talk about looking for acceptance from those around them.

Let me tell you a little about what I think acceptance is, and relate it
to other terms such as tolerance or passing. I'd like to give some
examples of experiences that I have had over the last 4 1/2 years or so
and how they have defined these terms for me.

About a month ago, I went into my allergy doctors' office as Heather for
the first time ever. Now, they had no idea (OK, maybe some there
suspected or at least thought I was weird) that I was a cross dresser.
This isn't anything that I ever brought up with anyone there. The
reactions of the staff were all good. The ones I spoke with loved my
look and commented on me being "dolled up". Last week I went in to see
the doctor and he didn't even flinch at seeing me as Heather. Did his
staff tip him off? Who knows... But he treated me no differently than if
I had been there in Joe mode. He didn't even comment on how I was
dressed. It was a non-issue to him. Today I went in for my monthly shot
and again the staff didn't react any differently. The office manager
gave me a big smile and waved when she saw me, but that was it. Is this
acceptance? I would have to say that yes, it is. They have known me for
several years as Joe. Now they know Heather as well. There is no
difference between how I was treated before or after (with the exception
of comments about how good my outfit looks or whatever). To me this
means that they have accepted me as who I am, regardless of how I might
be presenting.

2 1/2 years ago I came out to my parents. They didn't disown me, and
they have seen me as Heather a few times. At the same time, my father
clearly has issues with me being a cross dresser. He does not want to be
around me when I am Heather. It actually embarrasses him to think that I
cross dress and I know that he blames himself for me being the way that
I am. We're (Rain & I) still working on that one... Now, this I would
definitely label as tolerance. They (well, dad at least - not sure about
mom) do not want to be around me as Heather, yet at the same time they
are not treating me any differently now that they know about me. We
still get along just fine, but I know that if its a Heather day to tell
them if they want to get together so they aren't embarrassed by it.

A while back, I had a conversation with a woman (GG) at the nail salon
for over 1/2 hour and when I finally told her I was a guy, she was in
shock. She had no idea, even sitting 2 feet from me having an active
conversation. Once I told her, the natural curiosity and questions came
out. Now, this I would definitely call passing that turned into acceptance.

Then there's my best friend of 20 years. He was my first real-life,
non-online friend to know I cross dressed, even before I met my wife.
He's known about me for a number of years now (like 15 years). Some
other friends also learned of my cross dressing over time and I got some
good-natured, friendly teasing on occasion from them because of it. It
was all meant in good fun so I never took offense to it and even played
into it sometimes. None of these people had actually seen me cross
dressed (in person or pictures) though. I would consider this acceptance
or maybe more than just tolerance... I think it's something in between
the 2 really.

A few years ago my friend met Heather for the first time. He was OK with
it on a conscious level, but it brought out some inner demons and he
actually fought rejecting me for a year or so. On one hand, we had been
best friends for like 17 years. On the other hand, seeing me cross
dressed was causing him serious personal issues. Our friendship almost
came to an end because of this. There's no doubt that this was
definitely rejection.

After battling his own demons, my friend came to the realization that it
shouldn't matter one way or the other how I chose to dress. I was still
the same person that had been with him through a messy divorce, bailed
him out of jail, rescued him when his car broke down, moved him
countless times, etc. Since that day, we have been even closer friends
than we were before all of this started. He has been to the house when
I was Heather, gone to the Ladies Night Out event, a BBQ or 2 with the
"girls", and even been to the store with Heather a couple of times. This
is most definitely acceptance at it's deepest level.

Nearly 13 years ago I met my wife. On the second or third conversation
we had I told her I was a cross dresser. Her response was "And...?"
Since then she has bought me clothes, makeup, shoes, gone places with
Heather, etc. She is my biggest supporter and no doubt accepts me as who
I am, even though I know that I annoy the crap out of her some days.

I've had countless times when I was out and about where I got "read" by
someone. Most of the time I see the poking of the person next to them
and saying "That's a guy dressed as a girl." At the same time, it is
handled discreetly so as to not make a scene. Even the teenagers keep it
pretty quiet while they are within ear shot. Some of them look at me as
a freak, others with admiration or astonishment. At the same time they
do not make a scene or harass me. We each go our separate ways and live
our separate lives. I would have to say that this is tolerance at the
very least.

At restaurants, I am treated as any other female customer would be
treated. Most of the time I would say I passed. Other times they know
I'm a guy, but they don't act any differently at all. This is acceptance
or at the very least tolerance.

Over all, I have gotten tolerance, acceptance, or outright passed. I
have only had a few isolated incidences of rejection in the many
hundreds of times I have been out in public as Heather.

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Made some new friends

Last night my best friend came over with an old friend of his (GG) from
a long time ago and her daughter. They both knew of Heather and were
looking forward to meeting me, and after 20 years of stories I was
looking forward to finally meeting her. Needless to say, the evening
went well. They stayed for dinner and seemed to be very comfortable with
Heather.

In talking to her she mentioned watching my makeup video several times
and that both she and her daughter picked up some makeup tips from it.
:) I'm glad that I was able to shed some light on a few things that they
didn't think of, and the tips seemed to help with their look. I guess
I've learned a thing or 2 about makeup over the last 4 years that I have
been experimenting with it.

Rumor has it that they may make an appearance tonight on the way
through. It should be interesting to see what they say about the hair
since the wig I had on yesterday was a different one. If I keep this up
they may thing that I'm Heather all the time... LOL

just another boring day.. LOL

Today I had an appt with my allergy doctor. Yes, this is the same office
where I went as Heather recently for the first time. Now that I broke
the ice, I figured why not? I had to take our daughter since she has
been home sick (but is feeling much better now). As I would expect,
there wasn't any reaction to Heather at the office. I'm not sure if they
tipped the dr. off or not, but it was not an issue for him at all. All
went well and no comments at all from him. Other than that not a whole
lot happened today.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

I guess I passed...

Well, today our daughter was home sick so I worked from home. I decided
to take advantage of it and had a Heather day. I wore a rather bright
pinkish patterned broomstick skirt and pink tank top. This afternoon I
took her to the pediatrician for some advice and to see what we could do
for her. I would say I passed because on the way out, the nurse said she
loved my skirt and commented that she should have me dress her because I
had such a great style. She commented on how well put together I looked.
She said I didn't look frumpy at all and that is how she seems to always
look. Yay me! :)

Friday, June 12, 2009

Social workers and crossdressing

Well, we just had a visit from the social worker to check on our foster
son (routine visit). She got to meet Heather today finally. As expected
there was no issue whatsoever. In fact, there wasn't even a reaction
that I could see.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

The doctor's office...

Ok, so this morning I found myself presented with a dilemma. I had
dropped our daughter off at the school bus and gotten changed into
Heather. It was then that I realized that I needed to get my allergy
shot this week. Now, I really did not want to have to get changed back
to be able to go and get my shot so I said "What the hey" and went as I
was. I was dressed pretty casual - denim capris, t-shirt and sandals.

When I got to the doctors office, I signed in (my male name) and waited
to be called to sign the insurance form. When I was called (my male name
again) I went up and signed the form. Now, I expected some form of
reaction from the girl at the desk, especially since they all know Joe
very well after 3 years of going there regularly. She didn't even
flinch. Now I had to wait to be called to get my shot. When I went in
the door I had to go past the side of the front desk. The girl there
knows me very well and has commented on my goth attire from time to
time. As I walked by she said hello and then looked up and said "Well,
look at you all dolled up today." I smiled and said "thanks". When I
got to the back where they do the shots, the same 2 (younger) girls were
working there as normal on my shot day. The one giving me the shot said
"Wow, you look great!" as she did her thing. A minute or so later the
other girl turned to say something to me (I forget what) and then said
"She's right. You do look great."

About this time the girl from the side desk came in and said "Ok, you
need a girl name. Maybe Jodie?" I told her I went by Heather and she
gave me an odd look and said she didn't expect that name. She commented
that the girl at the front desk who handles the paperwork was a little
confused at first until she realized that it was in fact me. Once they
all realized who I was they thought it was great. We made some light
conversation about my crossdressing and then I was off on my way.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Take a stand now on HR 1913

I thought I would take this opportunity to pass along what opponents of
the */H.R. 1913 - the Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act
/*are passing along to try and bias the general public. It isn't pretty,
and these groups are influential. If you have never taken a stand on
these issues, now is the time to contact your Congressmen and let them
know how much you need them to vote for this bill. It is important to
note that this legislation pertains to physical violence and has nothing
to do with the "speaking out on Biblical standards of morality" as
stated in the propaganda. These groups are a real threat to us. Here is
what they are trying to protect against:

'(2) OFFENSES INVOLVING ACTUAL OR PERCEIVED RELIGION, NATIONAL ORIGIN,
GENDER, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, GENDER IDENTITY, OR DISABILITY-

'(A) IN GENERAL- Whoever, whether or not acting under color of law, in
any circumstance described in subparagraph (B), willfully causes bodily
injury to any person or, through the use of fire, a firearm, or an
explosive or incendiary device, attempts to cause bodily injury to any
person, because of the actual or perceived religion, national origin,
gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability of any person--


Here is some of the propaganda:

Please help us get this information into the hands of as many people as
possible by forwarding it to your entire e-mail list of family and friends.

*Don't allow President Obama to remove America's most basic freedoms*

*Contact Congress today about proposed "hate crimes" legislation -
before it's too late! *

April 20, 2009

Dear Friend,

America's most basic freedoms of speech, conscience and the free
exercise of religion are under attack and the time to act is now. *If
President Obama succeeds with his priority of passing the Hate Crimes
law, /H.R. 1913 - the Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act/,
it could lead to the criminalization of the Biblical view of
homosexuality in sermons and elsewhere.* An offended homosexual could
accuse a pastor, Sunday School teacher of broadcaster of causing
emotional injury simply by expressing the Biblical view that
homosexuality is sinful.

H.R. 1913 is one more step in the campaign to legitimize homosexuality
in our culture by treating it as a protected class along with race,
gender, and religion. *The long term goal is to create one more platform
from which to eradicate wrong thinking about homosexuality. *H.R. 1913
will undoubtedly pave the way to legislation that will make thinking
Biblically about homosexuality a "hate crime."

We believe prosecutors and anti-Christian groups will use loop holes in
the proposed legislation to muzzle the church from speaking out on
Biblical standards of morality which are shared by most Americans.
Unnecessary lawsuits will bring a chilling effect to the free speech and
religious liberty of our churches and of our members.

*Laws already exist in all 50 states to punish violent crime, making
this legislation unnecessary, unfair, indefinable, un-American and
constitutionally suspect.
*
Laws in civilized nations have always been designed to punish conduct,
not thought. H.R. 1913 is not designed to aid in crime fighting.
*Punishing wrong beliefs about homosexuality is the sole aim of /H.R.
1913 - the Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act/.
*

*
* And another piece of propaganda:

A vote is looming this week in Congress on a bill that one conservative
activist warns would not only silence Christian opposition to
homosexuality, but also would legitimize deviant forms of "sexual
orientation."

A markup vote is expected Wednesday in the House Judiciary Committee on
the Local Law Enforcement and Hate Crimes Prevention Act of 2009. House
Democrats only have to give 24 hours' notice before the vote. The
measure (H.R. 1913) sponsored by Representatives John Conyers
(D-Michigan) and Mark Kirk (R-Illinois) would add homosexuals and
transgender people to the list of classes federally protected from
so-called "hate crimes."

Andrea Lafferty, executive director of the Traditional Values Coalition,
says the bill is a serious threat to religious freedom.

"Your pastor could be prosecuted for conspiracy to commit a hate crime
if it passes and become law," she warns. "This so-called 'hate crimes'
bill will be used to lay the legal foundation and framework to
investigate, prosecute, and persecute pastors, business owners, Bible
teachers, Sunday School teachers, youth pastors -- you name it -- or
anyone else whose actions are based upon and reflect the truth found in
the Bible."

Andrea Lafferty TVCTVC says H.R. 1913 broadly defines "intimidation" --
and offers up this example: "A pastor's sermon could be considered 'hate
speech' under this legislation if heard by an individual who then acts
aggressively against persons based on 'sexual orientation.'" Under those
circumstances, says the group, the pastor could be prosecuted for
"conspiracy to commit a hate crime."

The legislation has another "serious problem," the pro-family group
says, because Congress has failed to define the term "sexual
orientation." Consequently, says TVC, 30 sexual orientations (as defined
by the American Psychiatric Association) will "arguably be protected"
under the legislation. "Those 30 sexual orientations include behaviors
that are felonies or misdemeanors in most states or can result in
death," notes the group's website.

In addition, TVC argues the bill is based on a fraudulent premise: that
there is an epidemic of so-called "hate crimes" against "lesbian, gay,
bisexual, and transgender" persons that needs federal involvement for
local law enforcement officials.

Lafferty says unless Christians in America act, the hate crimes bill
could be on President Obama's desk in three to four weeks at the most.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Corset pics

I posted 2 pics of the new corset. I'll post more when I get some better
ones of it.

Corset making - take 2

Well, as much as I liked my corset it had a flaw in it that led to its
early demise. The outer layer of fabric let loose at the seams due to my
own design error. I should have put it together differently than I did.
But I learned that lesson and took it apart to re-use the hardware and
make a new corset.

I am wearing my new corset right now, in fact. I made the new one out of
denim from 3 pairs of old jeans, so it has a neat look to it. It is
mostly blue denim with a black denim stripe down the side of it. I
finished the top edge with a strip of black denim as well. So far it is
pretty comfortable and I don't have the issue of the front of my thigh
going to sleep while wearing this one. On the last one I tried for a
more pointy front to the corset and had cut the sides too high,
resulting in pressure on the top if the hip bones. This one I cut
straight across on the bottom and it fits much better and lower over the
hips. I actually have to tighten the bottom laces on this one, where the
last one I could not do this. As a result, the pressure is more evenly
distributed.

I also made another design change (which I am still not sure if it was a
good idea or not). I made the front and back pieces where it joins one
piece that was folded over instead of having a seam there. I'll see how
the holes for the busk hooks holds up to wear. I may need to add a strip
of bias tape over the edges in front to help prevent fraying around the
holes, but only time will tell. I can't complain either way since this
is my second corset ever and I designed the pattern for both from hand
with no prior experience to go on.

The other change that I made was to make this one proportioned
differently and a little larger than the last (I had actually made it a
hair too small). I allowed for less compression in the hips since there
is no fat there to compress and a little less in the chest. I also made
the overall corset about 2" larger. I may be able to close this one all
the way if I want to go really tight, but with it laced comfortably
there is about a 2" gap in the back.

I'll post some pics in the gallery shortly.

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Inspection...

This morning I had to take the Jeep through inspection. Since I was
planning on it being a Heather day anyway and had my nails polished, I
certainly wasn't going to let that stop me. I was dressed pretty casual,
jean capris, 2 layer pink T-shirts and ballet flats. When I got to the
inspection station, I had my drivers license, insurance, and
registration all handy and kept my TG ID card at the ready just in case
it was needed. I pulled in and handed my paperwork to the guy. He looks
it over and says to me "I need to see YOUR drivers license." I pulled
out my TG ID card and said "This should explain things a little better."
He looked it over, compared the photos to me and my drivers license and
got this kind of embarrassed smile as his eyes lit up when he made the
connection and said "Oh, ok that does." I said to him "Thanks for the
compliment, though." He have me a sheepish grin and handed me my
paperwork back. The rest of the process went without incident (the Jeep
passed inspection, yay!).

Saturday, March 28, 2009

A night at the mall

I must say that yesterday proved to be rather interesting. Let me set
the scene first by telling you how I was dressed. I was in a
particularly goth mood yesterday so I went all out. I have a 2 piece
outfit that consists of a black mesh top that looks like I'm wearing a
corset for the bottom half and a spandex pencil skirt with heavy
vertical seams all around (to match the fake boning in the mock corset).
I wore this with black tights and red fishnets over them, black 3"
heeled Mary Janes, leather studded wrist cuffs, long straight black wig
(down to my ass almost), heavy black eyeliner, deep purple eyeshadow,
and dark red lips. I also was carrying my small black Tinker Bell purse.
I was definitely "old school" goth (I love that look). With the heels, I
was at about 6'1" tall as well. Now, I know that the average goth draws
attention when out in general public. Think about it.. You look at them
too when you see them, so imagine this tall, slim, "old school" goth
wandering around (which is pretty rare, even amongst Goths). I knew I
was going to draw attention (as I always do when I go goth), so I made
sure to give people a good show of it.

We decided to hit the mall since we were in a Friendly's mood for dinner
and our daughter wanted to buy something. From the moment we walked in,
people were looking at me. Now, keep in mind that this was on a Friday
night, so the place was packed with teenagers. Teenaged girls are
especially keen on picking up on cross dressers. I know I was getting
read, but out of the 200 or so people that we passed, I'd say maybe 20
or so definitely figured me out (and at least half knew once their
friends told them). I'll take those odds anytime. The rest were just
checking out the goth.

We did dinner and had no incidents to speak of there. The place was
pretty quiet and the food was good. On the way into and out of the
restaurant I got read by some (again, all teens). On the way in one guy
figured me out and pointed me out to his friends. On the way out, there
were 2 girls at the ice cream counter in front. One pointed me out to
her friend and I saw them turn to look at me. I'm pretty sure she
figured me out, but it was the goth that drew their eyes initially. The
reactions were typical, the "oh my god, that's a guy!" reaction. This
isn't a reaction of horror, but rather one of shock and amazement with
admiration mixed in sometimes as well.

Of course we had to hit the stores that cater to the goth and other
alternative sub-cultures looking for any interesting items to buy. In
one store I found a black button down see thru shirt for $4 ($29 regular
price). Of course I had to buy it. When I went to the register, the girl
complimented me on my dress. "I love that dress". She didn't balk when I
showed her my drivers license (my credit card isn't signed on purpose).
The few customers didn't pay all that much attention to me really.

At Hot Topic I saw another goth that was definitely more "old school" as
well. She didn't seem to pay any attention to me at all, but then why
would she? Most of the Goths at the mall did notice me, but it was more
as an acknowledgement and to maybe see how I was dressed. I certainly
didn't shock them and I don't know if they figured me out or not to be
honest. I bought a few things there and the girl & guy at the register
didn't pay me any real attention either.

Wandering about in the mall, there were a number of packs of teens (yes,
teens travel in packs). Usually one in every pack figured me out, or at
least noticed the goth. I got lots of very warm smiles from the girls
who figured me out. A number waved or sad hi as they walked by too. Even
the guys who figured me out gave me warm smiles.

When we were at the Rita's (Italian ice) stand, there was a big guy
there with a few guy friends (teen) who definitely figured me out. We
made eye contact and he gave me a big smile that said "dude, love the
look". As he walked by to leave he stuck his hand out in a "low five"
kinda manner. I would have returned it but had my hands full. I gave him
a big smile and nod as he walked by me. I almost think he wanted to give
me a hug.

A little while later we were at Claire's (you gotta love Claire's). I
decided a week or so ago that it was time to get a second set of holes
in my ears, so Rain suggested I do it last night since were there. Yup,
I now have 2 sets of earrings in each ear. :) While I was waiting for
the girl to get free to pierce my ears, there were some guys hanging out
in the area in front of the store. There was one big guy (what is it
with the big guys???) who kept looking at me with a big smile on his
face. I looked right at him and gave him a big smile back. A little
later (still waiting) he came over with another guy. Now, these guys are
definitely the gang looking type - tattoos on the neck, arms, etc. One
was wearing a bandana on his head.. you know the type. The guys came
over and introduced themselves and gave me a gang-style handshake. The
whole time they both were all smiles and extremely friendly. It seems I
had been targeted by a couple of born again gangstas... LOL They told me
all about their bible study class and invited me to join them. I thanked
them and told them very politely that I wasn't interested and they went
about their way. I don't think the girl at Claire's read me, but I'm
sure she had to know once I showed my drivers license for ID (a legal
formality when getting ears pierced). She never let it show though the
entire time and she was extremely courteous. She even gave me a 20%
discount (which is given for the NEXT visit when getting ears pierced at
Claire's) on the earrings and stuff that Rain and our daughter wanted to
buy.

When we were passing by one of the larger stores, there were 2 teenaged
girls heading the other way past us. One definitely read me. I could see
it in her reaction. As they passed us, they turned into the store and I
could hear her say to her friend "That was a man", and her friend say
"Where?". I turned my head slightly to watch them out of the corner of
my eye and it was the typical reaction. "Holy @*#$, that really is a
guy!" They followed us from inside the store (the store had big windows
along the front). I saw them staring in amazement. At the very end of
the store, I turned my head fully and looked right at them and gave them
a really big smile. The one girl waved at me.

After we left my wife said to me "Next time we go out and you're goth,
I'm going goth too. I felt like such a freak because I looked so normal
walking next to you." LOL All in all it was a fun evening and I really
enjoyed the reactions of the masses. I didn't see one bad reaction in
the whole crowd. Most were amazed when they found out I was a guy. I
would definitely consider last night's experience very positive PR for
the transgendered community.

Friday, March 20, 2009

Some days it is definitely better being a girl.

Today I needed to go get rid of some used motor oil at the local
recycling center. Since it was a Heather day, I went as is. I'd say I
was looking like any GG as is my norm, knee length purple skirt, boots,
longsleeve top, tights and big sunglasses. When I got to the center, I
wasn't sure as to where I needed to go, so I made an educated guess and
stopped in one of the buildings to ask. Lucky for me I was in the right
place. The guy who was working there offered to empty the oil container
for me. He wheeled a cart out to the Jeep and put the container on it,
brought it inside and drained it and then put it back in the Jeep. Now,
I am reasonably certain that if I had gone as Joe that I would have had
to empty the container for myself. I have no doubt that he saw me as a
woman and seriously doubt if he read me at all. He was very courteous,
holding the door for me and everything. It's like Louise says, "And
people wonder why I like to dress like a woman."

Saturday, March 07, 2009

A night at the museum

Last night we went to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. We decided to
dress it up a bit for a change and took our daughter with us this time
too. I went with a knee length black skirt and pink top and heels. We
had a good time and Katya liked looking at some of the art and listening
to the music (they had a Japanese band playing).

On the way home we stopped for some food at a diner and when we were
being seated, the girl asked me how I got my hair to be so curly (I was
wearing the long curly wig). She said she wished she could get her hair
to be as curly as mine was. I just smiled and said "with a bit of work"
and left it at that. If only she knew that it was actually a wig I had
on (I was tempted to tell her that, but didn't). It's amazing how good a
$40 synthetic wig can look.

Tuesday, March 03, 2009

New RSS feed

I just combined all of the RSS feeds from my blogs and twitter into one
new feed. If you would like to read everything that I write in one
place, feel free to subscribe to the new feed. There is a link in the
lower left corner of my site or you can get to it here...

http://feeds2.feedburner.com/HeathersBlogsCombined

Enjoy!

Sunday, March 01, 2009

Aggregated feed

I'm working on a way to combine all of my blogs, twitter, etc. into one
RSS feed. If I can, it'll allow those who want to follow me everywhere
to do so in one place.

Saturday, February 28, 2009

New friends...

New friends are always a wonderful thing to have. Last night we got
together with another girl (who just happens to be another Heather) in
the area to help her with some makeup and had a really good time. It's
funny how easy it is to make friends when you open yourself up to those
who share a common need. I know we can';t wait to get together and hang
out again. It was fun, girl!

Saturday, February 21, 2009

A day at the aquarium

I wish I could say that today was an eventful one, but it wasn't. It was
actually another of those "dull" ones. I started my day by getting
dressed as Heather. I went casual - jeans, boots, and a pink T-shirt. We
started the day by going to Philadelphia for a meeting related to the
Liberty Conference. After the meeting.the 3 of us (me, my wife, and our
daughter) stopped at the Camden Aquarium. I always love seeing the fish
and even got to see a Hammerhead shark in real life. We all had a good
time at the aquarium, which was very crowded. After the aquarium we
stopped at a diner for dinner on the way home.

Now, I never pretend that I fool everyone, because I know that at least
some figure me out. At the hotel for the meeting I didn't notice any
reactions to me. At the aquarium, I didn't either and even had the
ticket person use the "ladies" reference referring to all 3 of us. At
the diner, the 2 guys who were sitting behind me figured me out and
seemed to comment to one of the staff on their way out. They even had to
slow down and look at me again as they drove out of the parking lot. I
made eye contact with one of them and simply smiled. That having been
said, nobody on the staff had any issue with me and always used feminine
words to reference me. I don't know one way or the other if any of them
knew or not, and I don't really care one way or the other. I've been in
there a number of times as Heather, all without incident.

So, here's to yet another dull and boring day as me... :)

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Notice


Notice
 
Due to recent budget cuts and the cost of electricity,
gas and oil, as well as current market conditions and
the continued decline of the U.S. economy,
The Light at the End of the Tunnel has been turned off.
 
We apologize for the inconvenience.
 

Thursday, February 05, 2009

Accepting women are easy to find.....

This morning I had to drop my daughter off at the bus and then go for my
allergy shot. I can't do this as Heather at this point, but I am in the
habit of "freaking out the locals" on occasion. I wore my really long
jeans (with a 38"inseam) and my red suede stiletto boots with the 4"
heels in guy mode. With the jeans, you can barely see the heels when I
stand up. I regularly wear stiletto heeled boots in guy mode so this is
nothing all that rare, although it's the first time in these boots.
While I was waiting after my allergy shot, I sat there and crossed my
legs (girl style, like I always do) and played a game on my phone. A few
minutes later, a mid-30's lady comes over to me, leans over and whispers
in my ear "I just had to tell you, those are some great boots." She then
went off on her way. So, if you ever doubt that you can find an
accepting woman out there, keep looking... They are everywhere.

Sunday, February 01, 2009

Just how many of us are there, anyway?

This question comes up very often in conversation. There are no concrete numbers anywhere as to just how many transgendered there really are. This is complicated by a number of factors. Some of these factors are:

1. The very definition of "transgender" can vary greatly from one individual to another. I personally know a number of crossdressers who do not consider themselves to be "transgender".
2. Statistics vary considerably from one source to another. The biggest problem with statistics is that they rely on the willingness of a respondent to actually admit to the fact that they crossdress, etc. Anyone who is a crossdresser or tranassexual knows that many of us,  especially in the beginning stages, will not admit to it even if it is an anonymous survey.
3. The very location and parameters of a survey can skew the results in either direction.

Most data on this subject is based on estimates as a result of these and other factors. We can only really guess as to "just how many of us are there?" If you would like to get an idea as to just how many transgendered there are, I have added a calculator to my web site that will allow you to pick your own percentage estimate and see for yourself. I have downloaded data from the US Census Bureau and am using this for my calculations. Choose your state or zip code and see for yourself how many of us may be living near you.

http://heathercd.org/index.php?newcontent=g/howmany.php&newtitle=Just%20how%20many%20are%20there?

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Website changes

Well, the new site is online. I am very pleased with the way it works.
If you spot any broken links or poorly formatted content, please let me
know. I also added a new getting out story to the testimonials section.

Friday, January 30, 2009

new web site

I'm re-designing my website. If you want a sneak peek, go to
http://www.heathercd.org/index.php and give it test drive.

Friday, January 16, 2009

You know it's cold when....

you can walk across your front lawn in stiletto heeled boots and not
sink in even 1/4"...

Thursday, January 08, 2009

Repairing high heels

Well, today I did my first high heel repair (well, sort of). My new red
boots threw a heel tip the other day. I borrowed a heel tip from a pair
of heels that I don't wear very often. It's amazingly simple and easy to
replace a heel tip. Just grab the old tip with a pair of pliers and
wiggle and pull. It will come out with a little effort. Then push the
new tip into the hole and tap the heel on something hard to seat it.
That's it.

In this case I removed the good heel from the shoe and put it onto the
boot. It took a whole 2 minutes to do. I found a website where you can
order replacement heel tips for about $2.50/pair. If you order 10 or
more pairs, shipping is free anywhere in the world.

http://www.stiletto-heel-tips.co.uk/heel_tips_available.htm

I took an inventory of the various heel sizes we have and ordered the
most popular sizes, including several pairs in each of the smaller ones.
The way I look at it is the smaller ones are much more prone to coming
off than the larger ones and we have a number of heels in the smaller
heel sizes, so I ordered 2 or 3 pairs of these. I should see my new
supply of heel tips in a week or so.

Sunday, January 04, 2009

bye bye Christmas

Yesterday, we took the Christmas stuff down yesterday and got the corner
of the living room back again. I decided to stack the games in that
corner on shelves and we can actually find them now instead of having to
dig through the closet.

Oh, what a night!

Well, last night Louise invited us to go out with her to one of her
regular haunts, so we figured why not? We arranged for a babysitter
(camp Grandma) and got ourselves ready to go out. Since it was more of a
casual place, I decided to go with jeans, boots, and a form fitting top
along with my really long brunette wig. We headed to Louise's to BS with
Millie for a few before heading out for some fun.

When we got to the bar (and restaurant, it was a bit of a classy place
really), we found a pair of stools along one side of the bar so we sat
down and ordered some wine. It didn't take long to figure out why these
stools were open.. They were right in front of the side door. Every time
someone would go in or out, we'd get hit with a blast of 20-something
degree air. After a few minutes of this, we spotted 2 stools that had
opened up on the far side, so we moved over there. Rain sat to my left,
and there was an older guy to her left eating his dinner. He made small
talk, asking what brought us there, etc. I told him that Aunt Louise
invited us down for a few drinks. He then asked if we were sisters.. LOL
We explained that no, Aunt Louise was more of an adopted aunt than a
real aunt. Up until this point the guy was very friendly and chatty with us.

About this time, Louise came over to see what we were up to and the guy
quickly realized that Louise was a guy. He started making crude comments
(most of which I couldn't hear). One comment which I caught a piece of
had something to do with "trans" something. I could see that the guy
seemed a bit agitated and Rain turned toward me and started to ignore
the guy. I figured he had some sort of issue with us, but didn't know
what exactly. Rain was getting ready to get the bartender's attention
and maybe get a manager. After a couple of minutes, the guy got up and
said something to the effect of us being sick (expletive deleted). As he
grabbed his food and walked off past Louise (who was standing behind the
stools we were at), he made a comment to Louise something like "You're a
sick &#@&#." Louise got pissed and kind of shoved the guy on the
shoulder to tell him he was being a jerk. The guy repeated his sentiment
again as he turned back to glare at us. I started to get off my stool
and gave the guy one of those looks that says "don't even think about
it". The guy said something else rather crude and I told Louise to let
it go, which thankfully she did. We certainly didn't need a fight at the
bar (not that we would have had a problem, as they know Louise there and
we were not the ones causing trouble). The guy backed down and stormed
off making comments as he left.

A little bit later, the band took a break and Louise brought the female
singer over to introduce her to us and we chatted for a bit and were
generally having a good time. She was an interesting person and she
loved the fact that we were there as a couple. Rain and her chatted for
a while and we compared clothing sizes (she was smaller than me even)... LOL

There was a couple that were in town for the weekend and Louise had met
them the night before. At one point she brought Dee over to introduce us
and such then wandered off again. A little bit later I went over to be
social with Louise and had some really good conversation with Dee and
the girl sitting next to her (who, it turns out has a gay brother and
has met some TS friends of his). At one point I went over and literally
dragged Rain over and made her be social. She was pissed about the jerk
earlier and really wanted to leave. I told her to not let one jerk ruin
her night, that the rest of the people were good people. She told them
about what happened and they said that they had seen the guy leave but
didn't know what it was about.

I'd say we must have spent a good hour and a half talking to the girls
and Dee's husband, who also seemed to be a very decent guy. They all
thought it was great that Louise & I could get out as we were and be
happy. They definitely didn't have any issue with us and even seemed to
like us. Rain's mood seemed to improve a little after talking to them,
but I could see that she wasn't happy about the evening.

Friday, January 02, 2009

Just a quick update

I just wanted to post another quick update. This evening I had to go
pick something up and our daughter wanted to go along. On the way back
we stopped at McDonalds for some dinner. I got Ma'amed at least 3 times
by the guy behind the counter while placing the order and the staff
didn't seem to notice that I'm a crossdresser.

Just another day out and about

I started the day out by getting my nails done. I always love going to
get them done for some reason. I went with a darker purple this time for
something different. Red & pink gets old after a while. While I was
there I chatted with an older lady getting her nails done. I doubt she
suspected anything while we were talking. Afterwards we stopped at
Dunkin Donuts and while we were waiting a younger lady commented that
she loved my boots ( I wore my new red boots). I thanked her and she
asked if they were high boots so i lifted my skirt a bit to show her
they were knee high. She loved them and commented that they looked hard
to walk in. I told her that they weren't hard to walk in (4" heels)
because I was used to heels that high. She commented that she'd probably
wobble all over the place if she tried walking in them. We went on our
way and there is another person who has met a cross dresser and doesn't
even know it.. LOL

New years

New years was quiet, but spent with friends. It's good to know that you
have friends at certain times of the year, especially those who have no
issues with you being who you are. We had 2 of the girls over and 2
friends of ours who are clearly not bothered by Heather at all. It
wasn't exactly a wild party, but we had some good conversation with some
friends.